Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Cinema Audio Society to Honor Doc Kane with Career Achievement Award

Cinema Audio Society President Mark Ulano, CAS, announced that the organization will honor multiple CAS and Oscar nominee ADR Mixer Doc Kane(pictured) with the CAS Career Achievement Award. The Cinema Audio Society’s highest accolade will be presented at the 52nd CAS Awards on February 20, 2016 in the Crystal Ballroom of the historic Millennium-Biltmore Hotel in Los Angeles.

“It is a pleasure and a privilege to announce that the CAS Board of Directors have chosen Doc Kane as this year’s Cinema Audio Society Career Achievement honoree,” says Ulano. “Doc is one of the greats, with hundreds of projects to his credit, he is an icon in the world of ADR mixing and motion picture sound–a great artist and person. We are delighted to recognize him for his contributions to the craft and for the scope of his career.”

Kane has been a Sound Mixer at the Walt Disney Studios for more than 28 years. He is responsible for the original dialog recordings of many Disney Animated Motion Pictures including Beauty and The Beast, Aladdin, The Lion King, Wreck-It Ralph, and Frozen.

Kane has also been responsible for the original dialog recordings of all Pixar Animation Studios feature films, from Toy Story to next summer’s release of Finding Dory

Kane is also an ADR mixer for feature films and television shows. He has credits on more than 350 motion pictures. He has been nominated four times for an Academy Award for his work on Ratatouille, The Incredibles, Aladdin, and Beauty and The Beast. He received a Golden Reel Award for The Iron Giant and has been nominated for six CAS Awards.

As the 34th recipient of the Cinema Audio Society’s highest honor, Kane joins an illustrious group of past honorees that includes: Don Rogers, Walter Murch, Les Fresholtz, Tomlinson Holman, Richard Portman, Jim Webb, Charles Wilborn, Gary Rydstrom, Willie Burton, Mike Minkler, Ed Greene, Dennis Sands, Randy Thom, Jeffrey S. Wexler, Scott Millan, Chris Newman, Andy Nelson, and David Macmillan.

The Cinema Audio Society, a philanthropic, non-profit organization, was formed in 1964 for the purpose of sharing information with Sound Professionals in the Motion Picture and Television Industry.

On the evening of the Awards the Cinema Audio Society Website will be updated in real time as the winners are announced.

Visit the CAS Website at