Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Audio Grammy Nominations Announced

The Recording Academy has announced nominations for the 58th Annual Grammy Awards, including production, engineering and mastering acknowledgements.

Los Angeles, CA (December 7, 2015)—The Recording Academy has announced nominations for the 58th Annual Grammy Awards, including production, engineering and mastering acknowledgements.

This year, Kendrick Lamar leads the nominations with 11, followed by Taylor Swift and The Weeknd, who each earn seven. Additionally, music producer/songwriter Max Martin receives six nominations and mastering engineer Tom Coyne, rapper Drake and engineers/mixers Serban Ghenea and John Hanes each earn five nominations.

The awards will be presented Monday, February 15, 2016, live from Staples Center in Los Angeles and broadcast on the CBS Television Network from 8 – 11:30 p.m. (ET/PT).

Record of the Year

 “Really Love”
D’Angelo and the Vanguard
D’Angelo, producer; Russell Elevado & Ben Kane, engineers/mixers; Dave Collins, mastering engineer
Track from: Black Messiah

“Uptown Funk”
Mark Ronson Featuring Bruno Mars
Jeff Bhasker, Bruno Mars & Mark Ronson, producers; Josh Blair, Serban Ghenea, Wayne Gordon, John Hanes, Inaam Haq, Boo Mitchell, Charles Moniz & Mark Ronson, engineers/mixers; Tom Coyne, mastering engineer
Track from: Uptown Special

“Thinking Out Loud”
Ed Sheeran
Jake Gosling, producer; Jake Gosling, Mark ‘Spike’ Stent & Geoff Swan, engineers/mixers; Stuart Hawkes, mastering engineer
Track from: X

“Blank Space”
Taylor Swift
Max Martin & Shellback, producers; Serban Ghenea, John Hanes, Sam Holland & Michael Ilbert, engineers/mixers; Tom Coyne, mastering engineer
Track from: 1989

“Can’t Feel My Face”
The Weeknd
Max Martin & Ali Payami, producers; Serban Ghenea, John Hanes & Sam Holland, engineers/mixers; Tom Coyne, mastering engineer

Album of the Year

Sound & Color
Alabama Shakes
Alabama Shakes & Blake Mills, producers; Shawn Everett, engineer/mixer; Bob Ludwig, mastering engineer

To Pimp a Butterfly

Kendrick Lamar
Bilal, George Clinton, James Fauntleroy, Ronald Isley, Rapsody, Snoop Dogg, Thundercat & Anna Wise, featured artists; Taz Arnold, Boi-1Da, Ronald Colson, Larrance Dopson, Flying Lotus, Fredrik “Tommy Black” Halldin, Knxwledge, Koz, Lovedragon, Terrace Martin, Rahki, Sounwave, Tae Beast, Thundercat, Whoarei & Pharrell Williams, producers; Derek “Mixedbyali” Ali, Thomas Burns, James “The White Black Man” Hunt, 9th Wonder & Matt Schaeffer, engineers/mixers; Mike Bozzi, mastering engineer

Chris Stapleton
Dave Cobb & Chris Stapleton, producers; Vance Powell,
engineer/mixer; Pete Lyman, mastering engineer

Taylor Swift
Jack Antonoff, Nathan Chapman, Imogen Heap, Max Martin, Mattman & Robin, Ali Payami, Shellback, Taylor Swift, Ryan Tedder & Noel Zancanella, producers; Jack Antonoff, Mattias
Bylund, Smith Carlson, Nathan Chapman, Serban Ghenea, John Hanes, Imogen Heap, Sam Holland, Michael Ilbert, Brendan Morawski, Laura Sisk & Ryan Tedder, engineers/mixers; Tom
Coyne, mastering engineer

Beauty Behind the Madness

The Weeknd
Lana Del Rey, Labrinth & Ed Sheeran, featured artists; Dannyboystyles, Ben Diehl, Labrinth, Mano, Max Martin, Stephan Moccio, Carlo Montagnese, Ali Payami, The Pope, Jason Quenneville, Peter Svensson, Abel Tesfaye & Kanye West, producers; Jay Paul Bicknell, Mattias Bylund, Serban Ghenea, Noah Goldstein, John Hanes, Sam Holland, Jean Marie Horvat, Carlo Montagnese, Jason Quenneville & Dave Reitzas, engineers/mixers; Tom Coyne & Dave Kutch, mastering engineers

Engineered Album, Non-Classical

Before This World
Dave O’Donnell, engineer; Ted Jensen, mastering engineer (James Taylor)

Currency of Man

Maxime Le Guil, engineer; Bernie Grundman, mastering engineer (Melody Gardot)

Recreational Love

Greg Kurstin and Alex Pasco, engineers; Emily Lazar, mastering engineer (the Bird and the Bee)

Sound & Color

Shawn Everett, engineer; Bob Ludwig, mastering engineer (Alabama Shakes)


Steve Price, Jochem van der Saag & Jorge Vivo, engineers; Paul Blakemore, mastering engineer (Diana Krall)

Producer of the Year, Non-Classical
Jeff Bhasker
Dave Cobb
Larry Klein
Blake Mills

Remixed Recording, Non-Classical
“Berlin by Overnight (CFCF Remix)”
CFCF (Daniel Hope)

“Hold On (Fatum Remix)”
Bill Hamel and Chad Newbold (JES, Shant and Clint Maximus)

“Runaway (U & I) (Kaskade Remix)”
Ryan Raddon (Galantis)

“Say My Name (RAC Remix)”
André Allen Anjos (Odesza featuring Zyra)

“Uptown Funk (Dave Audé Remix)”
Dave Audé (Mark Ronson featuring Bruno Mars)

Surround Sound Album
Amdahl: Astrognosia & Aesop

Morten Lindberg (Ingar Heine Bergby and Norwegian Radio Orchestra)

Amused to Death

James Guthrie and Joel Plante (Roger Waters)

Morten Lindberg (Øyvind Gimse, Anita Brevik, Nidarosdomens Jentekor and Trondheimsolistene)

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 7

Erdo Groot, Philip Traugott (Paavo Järvi and Russian National Orchestra)

Morten Lindberg (Tove Ramlo-Ystad and Cantus)

Engineered Album, Classical
Ask Your Mama
Leslie Ann Jones, John Kilgore, Nora Kroll-Rosenbaum and Justin Merrill, engineers; Patricia Sullivan, mastering engineer (George Manahan and San Francisco Ballet Orchestra)

Dutilleux: Métaboles; L’Arbre Des Songes; Symphony No. 2, “Le Double”

Dmitriy Lipay, engineer; Alexander Lipay, mastering engineer (Ludovic Morlot, Augustin Hadelich and Seattle Symphony)

Monteverdi: Il Ritorno D’Ulisse In Patria

Robert Friedrich, engineer; Michael Bishop, mastering engineer (Martin Pearlman, Jennifer Rivera, Fernando Guimarães and Boston Baroque)

Rachmaninoff: All-Night Vigil

Beyong Joon Hwang and John Newton, engineers; Mark Donahue, mastering engineer (Charles Bruffy, Phoenix Chorale and Kansas City Chorale)

Saint-Saëns: Symphony No. 3, “Organ”

Keith O. Johnson and Sean Royce Martin, engineers; Keith O. Johnson, mastering engineer (Michael Stern and Kansas City Symphony)

Producer of the Year, Classical
Blanton Alspaugh
Manfred Eicher
Marina A. Ledin, Victor Ledin
Dan Merceruio
Judith Sherman

The Recording Academy