Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


56th Annual Grammy Awards Audio Production Winners

Due to the XXII Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia, taking place in February, the Grammy Awards ceremony that is traditionally held in February was moved up this year. The 56th Annual Grammy Awards ceremony took place on Sunday, January 26, 2014 at the Staples Center in Los Angeles. Once again, CBS broadcast the event in high-definition TV and 5.1 surround sound from 8 p.m. until 11:30 p.m. PT/ET, produced by AEG Ehrlich Ventures for The Recording Academy, with Ken Ehrlich as executive producer and Louis J. Horvitz as director.

This year’s Grammy Awards process registered more than 22,000 submissions over a 12-month eligibility period, from October 1, 2012 through September 30, 2013.

This year’s two Technical Grammy Award recipients are Harman International’s Lexicon brand and Emile Berliner (1851-1929), a posthumous winner who invented and patented the Gramophone disc recorder and player in 1887.

Mix magazine congratulates all of the audio production professionals who worked on the nominated projects, the individuals nominated for the top two engineering awards. and the audio production winners who were announced, and listed below.

Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical
Random Access Memories
Peter Franco, Mick Guzauski, Florian Lagatta & Daniel Lerner, engineers; Antoine “Chab” Chabert, Bob Ludwig, mastering engineers (Daft Punk)
Label: Columbia Records

Best Engineered Album, Classical
Winter Morning Walks
David Frost, Brian Losch & Tim Martyn, engineers; Tim Martyn, mastering engineer (Dawn Upshaw, Maria Schneider, Australian Chamber Orchestra & St. Paul Chamber Orchestra)
Label: ArtistShare

Best Surround Sound Album
Live Kisses
Al Schmitt, surround mix engineer; Tommy LiPuma, surround producer (Paul McCartney)
Label: Eagle Rock Entertainment

Record of the Year
“Get Lucky”
Daft Punk Featuring Pharrell Williams & Nile Rodgers

Thomas Bangalter & Guy-Manuel De Homem-Christo, producers; Peter Franco, Mick Guzauski, Florian Lagatta & Daniel Lerner, engineers/mixers; Antoine “Chab” Chabert & Bob Ludwig, mastering engineers
Track from: Random Access Memories
Label: Columbia Records

Album of the Year
Random Access Memories
Daft Punk
Julian Casablancas, DJ Falcon, Todd Edwards, Chilly Gonzales, Giorgio Moroder, Panda Bear, Nile Rodgers, Paul Williams & Pharrell Williams, featured artists; Thomas Bangalter, Julian Casablancas, Guy-Manuel De Homem-Christo, DJ Falcon & Todd Edwards, producers; Peter Franco, Mick Guzauski, Florian Lagatta, Guillaume Le Braz & Daniel Lerner, engineers/mixers; Antoine “Chab” Chabert & Bob Ludwig, mastering engineers
Label: Columbia Records

See the complete list of 56th Annual Grammy Award winners at