Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


AES Announces 129th Convention Committee Co-Chairs

Valerie Tyler

Guiding the 129th AES Convention Committee on its journey to the “Bridge to the Future,” which will culminate at San Francisco’s Moscone Center on November 4-7, 2010, are Committee Co-Chairs Valerie Tyler and Jim McTigue.

“Both Valerie and Jim are long-term AES champions who have participated regularly in previous convention as well as local section events,” says AES Executive Director Roger Furness. “We are fortunate to have the benefit of their creative, managerial and technical skills at the helm of this year’s Committee.”

Valerie Tyler has been active in the AES since 1993, and has served on seven convention committees in positions ranging from Convention Co-Chair to Workshops, Special Events, and Tutorials & Master Classes Co-Chair. Tyler studied music at UC Santa Cruz, the music/recording industry at San Francisco State University, and electronic music, digital audio, digital video, Web design and graphic design at the College of San Mateo. She is currently Webmaster at College of San Mateo. She previously worked as an audio editor and as a freelance live sound engineer.

Jim McTigue

Jim McTigue has worked in the acoustic, broadcast and professional audio fields for more than 35 years, and currently heads his own consulting firm, Impulsive Audio. McTigue began his career at A&R Recording Studios in New York City and has served at Altec Lansing, API, Broadcast Technology, Euphonix, Radix Systems and Sigma Sound Studios. McTigue holds a Bachelor of Science degree in System Engineering from the Polytechnic Institute of NYU and a Master of Science in Industrial Engineering from the University of Oklahoma. He is a member of the AES, ASQ, IFQ, IEEE, IIE, NARAS and SBE.

“Their combination of inter-personal leadership skills and in-depth familiarity with established and emerging technology trends make Valerie Tyler and Jim McTigue particularly valuable Co-Convention Chairs,” Roger Furness concludes. “We are all looking forward to a memorable convention experience.”

For more information, visit