Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Cinema Audio Society Announces 2008 Awards Nominees

The Cinema Audio Society announced nominees for the 45th Annual CAS Awards, which will take place on February 14, 2009 in the Crystal Ballroom of the Millennium-Biltmore Hotel in Los Angeles. Additionally, sound mixer Dennis L. Maitland (CAS) will receive the CAS Career Achievement Award and multi-hyphenate Paul Mazursky will receive the CAS Filmmaker Award.

“These nominations represent the global filmmaking community of which we all are citizens,” says CAS president Edward L. Moskowitz. “It is always a pleasure to see, as well as listen to, the quality of projects that are submitted and nominated for these awards. They represent outstanding work in film, television and video.”

The nominees for the Cinema Audio Society Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Sound Mixing for 2008 are:

Motion Pictures:
The Dark Knight
Ed Novick
Lora Hirschberg
Gary A. Rizzo

Iron Man
Mark Ulano, CAS
Christopher Boyes
Lora Hirschberg

Quantum of Solace
Chris Munro, CAS
Mike Prestwood Smith
Mark Taylor

Slumdog Millionaire
Resul Pookutty
Ian Tapp
Richard Pryke

Tom Myers
Michael Semanick, CAS

Television Movies and Mini-Series:
Generation Kill, Episode 5: “A Burning Dog”
Danny Hambrook
Stuart Hilliker
Alexandros Sidiropoulous

John Adams, Episode 1: “Join or Die”
Jay Meagher, CAS
Mike Minkler, CAS
Bob Beemer, CAS

John Adams, Episode 2: “Independence”
Jay Meagher, CAS
Mike Minkler, CAS
Bob Beemer, CAS

John Adams, Episode 3: “Don’t Tread on Me”
Jay Meagher, CAS
Marc Fishman
Tony Lamberti

Gary Alper
Gary C. Bourgeois, CAS
Greg Orloff, CAS

Television Series:
24, “Redemption”
William F. Gocke, CAS
Michael Olman, CAS
Kenneth Kobett, CAS

Dexter, Episode 5: “Turning Biminese”
Roger Pietschman, CAS
Elmo Ponsdomenech
Kevin Roache

House, “Last Resort”
Von Varge
Gerry Lentz, CAS
Rich Weingart, CAS

Lost, “Meet Kevin Johnson”
Robert Anderson, Jr., CAS
Frank Morrone, CAS
Scott Weber

Mad Men, “The Jet Set”
Peter Bentley
Ken Teaney, CAS
Geoffrey Rubay

Television—Non-Fiction, Variety or Music—Series or Specials:
American Idol: Season 7 Finale
Brian Riordan, CAS
Conner Moore

Deadliest Catch, ”No Mercy”
Bob Bronow, CAS

Great Performances at the Met, “La Boheme”
Bill King
Ken Hahn, CAS
Jay Saks
John Bowen

Great Performances, “Company”
Jorge Silva
Ken Hahn, CAS

Steve Miller Band Live in Chicago
Andy Johns
Brian Slack

DVD Original Programming:
Little Mermaid: Ariel’s Beginning
Carlos Sotolongo
Mark Fleming, CAS
Tom Dahl, CAS

Meerkat Manor: The Story Begins
Nominees TBA

Runnin’ Down a Dream: Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers
Andy Johns
Brian Slack

Smashing Pumpkins—If All Goes Wrong
Kerry Brown
Brian Slack

Wargames: The Dead Code
Terry O’Bright, CAS
Keith Rogers, CAS

The Cinema Audio Society, a philanthropic, non-profit organization, was formed in 1964 for the purpose of sharing information with Sound Professionals in the Motion Picture and Television Industry. For more information, visit