Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Cinema Audio Society Announces 2008 Sound Mixing Awards

On February 16, the Cinema Audio Society announced the winners of its Outstanding Achievement in Sound Mixing Awards in five categories of film and television during awards ceremonies held in Los Angeles at the Crystal Ballroom of the Millennium Biltmore Hotel. CAS President Edward L. Moskowitz, CAS, presided over the awards with Sam Rubin serving as master of ceremonies.

Composer Alan Silvestri presented music scoring and sound re-recording mixer Dennis Sands, CAS, with the society’s highest honor, the Career Achievement Award. Michael Minkler, CAS, presented writer/director Bill Condon with the Filmmaker Award.

Here are the winners of this year’s CAS Outstanding Achievement in Sound Mixing:

Category 1: Motion Pictures
No Country for Old Men
Peter Kurland, CAS, Production Mixer
Skip Lievsay, Re-recording Mixer
Craig Berkey, Re-recording Mixer
Greg Orloff, CAS, Re-recording Mixer

Category 2: Television Movies or Miniseries
Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee
George Tarrant, Production Mixer
Rick Ash, Re-recording Mixer
Edward C. Carr III, CAS, Re-recording Mixer

Category 3: Television Series
CSI: Crime Scene Investigation, “Living Doll”
Mick Fowler, CAS, Production Mixer
Yuri Reese, CAS, Re-recording Mixer
Bill Smith, Re-recording Mixer

Category 4: Television Non-Fiction, Variety or Musical—Series Or Specials
Great Performances at the Met: The Magic Flute
Bill King, Production Mixer
Ken Hahn, CAS, Re-recording Mixer
Jay Saks, Re-recording Mixer
John Bowen, Re-recording Mixer

Category 5: DVD Original Programming
Species: The Awakening
Gabriel Coll Barberis, Production Mixer
Alec St. John, Re-recording Mixer
Derek Marcil, CAS, Re-recording Mixer

The CAS also presented two Technical Achievement Awards. In the Production Technologies category, the award went to Zaxcom for the DEVA 5.8 recorder. In the Post-Production Technologies category, the winner was Digidesign for the ICON console.

For a complete list of 2008 nominees and winners, and photos of the winners, click here.