Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Cinema Audio Society Announces Nominees for Technical Awards

The Cinema Audio Society (CAS) in Los Angeles announces the nominees for the 5th Annual Awards for Technical Achievement. Two awards will be presented this year: one for an outstanding product used in production and another for post-production.

Initial submissions for the Technical Awards were solicited from the general membership of the CAS. The products include both hardware and software in use by sound mixing professionals. The CAS’ Technical Awards Committee has narrowed the list down to the following products:

Aaton Cantar X2 digital recorder
Lectrosonics Venue Series wideband RF receiver
Sennheiser MKH-8000 Series microphones
Sonosax SX-ST8D digital output mixer
Sound Devices 788T digital recorder

Audio Ease Speakerphone
Cedar DNS 3000 Automated Noise Suppression
Dolby Media Meter
Euphonix Artist Series MC Control
Lexicon PCM 96 signal processor

“These products represent the best innovations in tools for sound mixing professionals,” says CAS president Edward L. Moskowitz.

The Technical Awards will be presented at the 45th Annual CAS Awards Dinner on February 14 in the Crystal Ballroom of the Millennium-Biltmore Hotel in Los Angeles. Honorees at the event include Dennis L. Maitland, CAS, who will receive the Career Achievement Award, and Paul Mazursky, who will receive the Filmmaker Award.

KTLA entertainment reporter Sam Rubin will be Master of Ceremonies at the dinner, which will also honor Outstanding Achievements in Sound Mixing in five categories: Motion Pictures; Television Movies and Mini- Series; Television Series; Television—Non-Fiction, Variety or Music Series or Specials; and DVD Original Programming.

The Cinema Audio Society, a philanthropic, non-profit organization, was formed in 1964 for the purpose of sharing information with sound professionals in the motion picture and television industry. For more information, visit