Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


The Mix Foundation Announces 2006 TEC Awards Nominees

The Mix Foundation for Excellence in Audio has announced the nominees for the 22nd Annual Technical Excellence & Creativity Awards, to be held Saturday, October 7, 2006, at the Hilton San Francisco. The TEC Awards ceremony is the foremost event honoring outstanding technical and creative achievement in professional audio production and product design.

Nominations in 15 categories of Technical Achievement (product design) and eight categories of Creative Achievement (production) were made by a select panel of more than 100 audio industry professionals for products and projects released or completed during the eligibility period of April 1, 2005 to March 31, 2006. The winners will be chosen by a ballot in the August issue of Mix magazine, mailed to more than 42,000 BPA-qualified subscribers.

Among the nominees for Technical Achievement, nine represent first-time TEC-nominated companies. Leading manufacturers with multiple nominations this year include AMS Neve, Digidesign and TC Electronic, each having three apiece; and Solid Stage Logic, with four products nominated.

In the categories of Creative Achievement, Kanye West has two Record Production nominations for Late Orchestration: Live at Abbey Road Studios and a third nomination for Tour Sound Production. Sergio Mendes’s Timeless also garnered nominations in both the Single or Track and Album Record Production categories.

“Once again, this year’s TEC Awards nominees reflect outstanding achievement from across the spectrum of sound and music,” says Hillel Resner, president of the Mix Foundation. “No matter who gets the most votes, all these nominees represent the best in audio production and technical innovation.”

The TEC Awards will be held on the second night of the 121st AES convention, and is expected to draw more than 700 top audio professionals from around the world. Proceeds of the TEC Awards are donated to organizations working for the prevention of noise-induced hearing loss in the music environment, and to scholarships for students of the audio arts and sciences.

For tickets and other information, contact Executive Director Karen Dunn at 925/939-6149 or [email protected].

For a complete list of 2006 TEC Awards nominees, visit