Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Mixers, Editors, Composers Honored at 79th Annual Academy Awards

Re-recording mixers Michael Minkler and Bob Beemer of Ascent Media Group (AMG), and production mixer Willie D. Burton, won an Academy Award for Achievement in Sound Mixing for the DreamWorks/Paramount film Dreamgirls. Minkler previously won the award for Black Hawk Down and Chicago. Beemer’s previous wins came for Ray, Gladiator and Speed. Minkler and Beemer earlier won a Cinema Audio Society Award for Dreamgirls, and were interviewed by Mix senior editor Blair Jackson for the “Sound for Picture” section in Mix‘s December 2006 issue. The article is available at

“The entire Ascent Media Group and Todd-AO families offer their sincerest congratulations to Michael and Bob,” says AMG president Bob Solomon. “We are honored to work with artists of their high caliber.”

“Michael and Bob never fail to impress us with the excellence and integrity that they bring to their work,” added Robert C. Rosenthal, chief operating officer, Ascent Media Creative Sound Services. “They represent the true spirit of Hollywood in continuing to push the boundaries of creative expression.”

Sound editors Alan Murray and Bub Asman won an Academy Award for Achievement in Sound Editing for Warner Bros.’ Letters From Iwo Jima. Murray and Asman were likewise interviewed by Mix senior editor Blair Jackson about their work on the film for the “Sound for Picture” section in Mix’s January 2007 issue; the article is available at

Gustavo Santaolalla won the Academy Award for Best Original Score for the Paramount film Babel, and Melissa Etheridge won for Best Original Song for “I Need to Wake Up” from Paramount Classics’ An Inconvenient Truth.

For a complete list of 79th Annual Academy Awards nominees and winners, go to