Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Motion Picture Sound Editors Present 2014 Golden Reel Awards Winners

On February 16, 2014 the Motion Picture Sound Editors presented the 61st MPSE Golden Reel Awards at a black-tie ceremony held at the Bonaventure Hotel in Los Angeles. Golden Reel Awards recognizing outstanding achievement in sound editing were presented in 24 categories encompassing feature films, long-form and short-form television, animation, documentaries and other media.

Star Wars creator George Lucas presented the annual MPSE Career Achievement Award to Randy Thom, Director of Sound Design at Skywalker Sound. The evening also featured a Special Tribute to sound pioneer Ray Dolby, introduced by MPSE Career Achievement winner Walter Murch.

MPSE president Frank Morrone gave the opening address. Supervising sound editor Glenn T. Morgan and casting director Jeremy Gordon presented the Verna Fields Award for Sound Editing in Student Films and the Ethel Crutcher Scholarship Award to students from England’s National Film and Television School.

Other presenters included sound artists Mark Lanza, Joanie Diener, Kim Jimenez, Tom McCarthy and Erik Aadahl, as well as actors Navid Negahban, Julia Parker, Dayo Okeniyi and Callan McAuliffe, and producer/director Jon Chu.

Download the complete list of 61st MPSE Golden Reel Award winners in a PDF document.

Founded in 1953, the Motion Picture Sound Editors is a non-profit organization of professional sound and music editors who work in the motion pictures and television industry. The organization’s mission is to provide a wealth of knowledge from award winning professionals to a diverse group of individuals, youth and career professionals alike; mentoring and educating the community about the artistic merit and technical advancements in sound and music editing; providing scholarships for the continuing advancement of motion picture sound in education; and helping to enhance the personal and professional lives of the men and women who practice this unique craft.

For more information, and to see photos from the awards ceremony, visit