NAMM Joins Canadian Tradition of 'Music Monday' - Mixonline

NAMM Joins Canadian Tradition of 'Music Monday'

Author:
Publish date:

NAMM, the trade association of the international music products industry, announced that it will again join the Coalition for Music Education in Canada in its fifth annual Music Monday event on May 4, 2009, to demonstrate the galvanizing power of making music and kick off its annual Wanna Play Music Week.

NAMM joined the event for the first time last year, which inspired more than 700,000 students across North America to participate in a simultaneous concert and celebrate music education in schools. In addition, many community and professional organizations participated in the event to show their support for music education.

This year, NAMM is encouraging more U.S. schools and organizations to sing and play together and heighten the public's awareness about how music education empowers children with important tools such as creativity, achievement and social engagement. Many schools across the country have cut music programs because of lack of funding and cannot offer students the proven benefits associated with hands-on musical training.

As a not-for-profit association, NAMM has supported research to examine the effects of music on children and adolescents. The studies have shown that playing music positively affects the development of cognitive skills in children and teens. The activity also builds confidence, instills self-discipline, increases productivity and helps kids and teens connect socially with their peers.

The 2009 Music Monday song will be "Sing Sing" by Serena Ryder, whose album If Your Memory Serves You Well recently went Gold. The song will be sung and played by all schools and participants across North America at 10 a.m. Pacific time, 11 a.m. Mountain time, 12 p.m. Central time, 1 p.m. Eastern time and 2 p.m. Atlantic time, and 2:30 in Newfoundland, uniting them symbolically through one piece of music. Many arrangements will be added to the Music Monday Website by the end of the year, in addition to an arrangement and support kit specifically created for elementary teachers to work with very young children.

To register your school or organization as a participant in "Music Monday," and to receive your Music Monday materials and a copy of the song "Sing Sing," send an e-mail to musicmonday@namm.org.

For more information and links, go to www.supportmusic.com. Organizations interested in participating in
the SupportMusic Coalition can write to info@namm.org.

For more information on NAMM, visit www.namm.org or call 800/767-6266.