Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame will hold its annual induction ceremony on Monday, March 12, 2007 at 8:30 p.m. in the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City. The ceremony will honor inductees Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five (inducted by Jay-Z), R.E.M. (inducted by Eddie Vedder), The Ronettes (inducted by Keith Richards), Patti Smith (inducted by Zach De La Rocha), and Van Halen (inducted by Velvet Revolver). For the first time ever, the ceremony will broadcast live by VH1 Classic and streamed live by AOL at

The induction ceremony will also honor Ahmet Ertegun, the legendary founder of Atlantic Records, and a surprise artist will offer a special performance in his honor. Ertegun was a crucial figure in the careers of artists ranging from Ray Charles and Aretha Franklin to the Rolling Stones and Led Zeppelin. The Rock Hall Museum in Cleveland’s main exhibit hall is the Ahmet Ertegun Exhibition Hall.

The 2007 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees were chosen by the 600 voters of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation. Artists are eligible for inclusion in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 25 years after their first recording is released.

In addition to being honored at the ceremony on March 12, each artist who is inducted is commemorated within the I.M. Pei-designed museum in Cleveland. The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame displays the signature of each inductee inscribed in glass. In addition, there is an exhibit of artifacts from this year’s inductees, and a multimedia film presentation with highlights from each artist’s career. The exhibit on this year’s inductees will open in March 2007 and will run for one year.

For more information, visit and