Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


TEC Foundation Announces TECnology Hall of Fame 2012 Inductees

The TEC Foundation for Excellence in Audio, presenters of the TEC Awards, announces 10 inventions and products it will induct in its 8th TECnology Hall of Fame. The ceremony will be held on Saturday, January 26, at the 2013 NAMM Show in Anaheim, Calif., and hosted by TECnology Hall of Fame chairman and veteran pro audio journalist, George Petersen.

Established in 2004, the TECnology Hall of Fame recognizes the innovations and companies that have made significant contributions to the advancement of audio technology. Inductees are chosen by a panel of more than 50 recognized audio experts, including authors, educators, product designers, production professionals and others. To be considered for induction, products or innovations must be at least 10 years old.

“The inductees for the 2012 TECnology Hall of Fame cover an exceedingly wide range of breakthrough inventions that go back some 135 years to the very roots of audio reproduction,” says Petersen. “In fact, all of the products selected for this year are still in active use, whether as carbon microphone elements used in telecommunications transducers, or the VU meter or RCA’s BA-6A compressor, which—more than 60 years after its debut—remains a studio classic even today.”

The 2012 TECnology Hall of Fame inductees include:
1878 Carbon Microphone
1940 VU Meter – Bell Labs
1951 RCA BA-6A Variable-Mu Compressor
1974 Yamaha PM1000 Live Console
1975 Aphex Aural Exciter
1979 PZM Microphone (Long/Wickersham)
1983 RPG Diffusor
1985 MOTU Performer MIDI Sequencer
1989 Meyer HD-1 Powered Studio Monitor
1995 JBL EON Loudspeakers

The 2012 TECnology Hall of Fame ceremony will be presented on Saturday, the day after the 28th Annual TEC Awards, from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. As part of NAMM’s H.O.T. (Hands-On Training) Zone, it will be held in Room 203/A&B on Level 2 of the Anaheim Convention Center. Seating will be available for 300 and is offered to NAMM attendees, with priority given to inductees and their guests.

Find full descriptions of the 2012 Inductees, and past TECnology Hall of Fame Inductee profiles.