Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


TECnology Hall of Fame 2006 Inductees Announced

The Mix Foundation for Excellence in Audio has announced the 2006 inductees to the TECnology Hall of Fame. Established in 2004, the TECnology Hall of Fame recognizes products and innovations that have made a significant, lasting contribution to the advancement of audio technology. Inductees are chosen by a panel of more than 50 audio experts, including authors, educators, engineers, facility owners and other professionals. Products or innovations must be at least 10 years old to be eligible for induction.

“As in past years, the 2006 inductees mark some real revolutions in the way sound has been recorded, processed and reproduced,” says Hillel Resner, president of the Mix Foundation. “To the present day, many of these products and their underlying technologies remain the standard throughout the pro audio industry.”

The 2006 TECnology Hall of Fame inductees include:

1916 Condenser Microphone—E.C. Wente/Bell Labs

1933 Fletcher-Munson Loudness Curves—Harvey Fletcher/Wilden Munson/Bell Labs

1935 Lansing Shearer Horn

1953 Hammond Model B-3 tonewheel organ

1955 Ampex Sel-Sync 8-track recorder

1958 Telefunken Ela M 251 microphone

1967 Neumann U87 microphone

1967 Time-Delay Spectrometry—Richard Heyser

1971 Thiele-Small vented enclosure parameters—A.N. Thiele/Richard H. Small

1976 UREI 813 studio monitors

1979 Lexicon 224 digital reverb

1979 TEAC Model 144 Portastudio

1983 Sony PCM-3324 digital multitrack

1983 Yamaha DX7 FM synthesizer

1987 Sonic Solutions NoNoise

The 2006 inductees will be honored on Friday evening, October 6, at San Francisco’s Moscone Center during the Audio Engineering Society Convention. The ceremony will be hosted by the AES and sponsored for the third consecutive year by the Conservatory of Recording Arts and Sciences of Gilbert, Ariz. The 22nd Annual TEC Awards will be held the following night, October 7, at the Hilton San Francisco.

For more information, visit