Biffy Clyro Records at Ocean Way with Producer Gggarth Richardson


Fifth Album for Scottish Rock Sensation

Pictured in Ocean Way, Studio B (L-R) are Biffy Clyro producer Gggarth Richardson, drummer/vocalist Ben Johnston, bassist/vocalist James Johnston, assistant engineer Wesley Seidman, engineer Ben Kaplan, guitarist, lead vocalist Simon Neil, guitar tech Nick Rowe. Photo by David Goggin.

Scottish rock sensation Biffy Clyro has completed tracking and mixing their as yet untitled fifth album with Canadian producer Gggarth Richardson at Ocean Way Recording in Hollywood. With the album due in October, the first single, "That Golden Rule" was released on August 24.

Biffy Clyro's members are Simon Neil (vocals, guitar), and the brothers James Johnston (bass, vocals) and Ben Johnston (drums, vocals). The band is known for its heavy, yet melodic, mixture of guitar, bass and drums, with all three band members contributing to vocals. They are also identified by their complex

and interwoven guitar riffs, chord sequences and melodies that often change throughout songs. Their first album, "Blackened Sky," was released in 2002, followed by "The Vertigo of Bliss" (2003), "Infinity Land (2004), and "Puzzle" (2007), which was also produced by Gggarth Richardson.

Gggarth Richardson is the son of renowned Canadian producer Jack Richardson (Alice Cooper, The Guess Who, Badfinger, Poco), and has racked up hits as engineer of such acts as The Red Hot Chili Peppers, Nickelback, and Motley Crüe, and the producer of Rage Against the Machine, Mudvayne. and the Melvins. Richardson also recently launched the Nimbus School of Recording Arts in Vancouver, Canada, with famed producer Bob Ezrin (who was his mentor as a young man) and Michael McCarty, president of OLE Publishing.

For information about Ocean Way/Record One, visit:

Contact Jessica Castle for all booking requests.
Email: or call 323-467-9375.