Vocalist / Guitarist Ben Nichols Co-Stars in MTV's "$5 Cover"

Pictured (L-R) are keyboardist Rick Steff, drummer Roy Berry, assistant Mike Wilson, bassist John C. Stubblefield, guitarist Brian Venable, vocalist Ben Nichols, producer Ted Hutt, and engineer Ryan Mall.

Memphis rockers Lucero have tracked their new album in Studio A at Memphis' renowned Ardent Studios. Lead singer Ben Nichols currently co-stars in MTV's "$5 Cover," a Craig Brewer-produced quasi-fictionalized series about the Memphis music scene that debuted in May. A performance of Lucero's song "San Francisco" at the Young Avenue Deli in Memphis is featured in the trailer for the series.

The members of Lucero are Ben Nichols (guitar and vocals), Roy Berry (drums), John C. Stubblefield (bass), Brian Venable (guitar), and Rick Steff (piano, organ, accordion). Producer on the new album was Ted Hutt, who also produced last year's album "The '59 Sound" from New Jersey rockers The Gaslight Anthem. Ryan Mall engineered, with Ardent's Mike Wilson assisting.

Lucero's punk rock roots flavor their now "country-ish" music, while their Southern roots give them the twang that they have come to be known for. The band played for the first time in early 1998. Since 2001, they have played between 150 and 200 shows a year across the United States and Canada. They have released six full length albums, the latest entitled "Rebels, Rogues, and Sworn Brothers."

In late 2008 the band announced they had signed a 4 album deal with Universal Music Group. Their major label debut is due out this summer.

For more info about Ardent Studios, visit: