Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Michael Franti & Spearhead Master “All People” at Bernie Grundman’s

New Album Coincides with Summer Tour

Singer, poet, and social activist Michael Franti recently mastered his new album “All People” with guitarist and recording engineer J Bowman and mastering engineer Brian “Big Bass” Gardner at Bernie Grundman Mastering in Hollywood. The album features the hit singles “I’m Alive (Life Sounds Like)” and “Life Is Better With You.”

“All People is about the beauty of diversity, being your authentic self in a crazy world and the infinite power of love,” remarked Franti. “For everyone that’s been with us for days or decades, I really appreciate the love that you’ve given us. The music is for you and you inspire us.”

Michael Franti is recognized as a pioneering force in using music as a vehicle for social activism. In the mid-Nineties, Franti formed Spearhead following his punk band The Beatnigs and the hip hop-inflected The Disposable Heroes of Hiphoprisy.

Franti’s music was featured twice on HBO’s urban drama “The Wire”. “Oh My God” and “Rock The Nation”, both from the album “Stay Human”, were used in two different episodes during the series’ first season. Franti’s song “Everybody Ona Move” was featured in the pilot episode of “Privileged” on the CW in 2008. “Yell Fire” was used to promote the FX channel series “Rescue Me” and was also used in the closing credits of the pilot episode of “Virtuality” on Fox.

Showtime’s “Weeds” featured Franti’s song “Ganja Babe” in its first season, his interpretation of the “Weeds” theme song “Little Boxes” in Season 3, and “Say Hey” during a flash mob scene in the premiere episode of Season 5. “Say Hey (I Love You)” was used on the third episode of NBC’s series “Mercy”, as well as in the opening scene of the 2010 film “Valentine’s Day”.

The new album, “All People”, follows 2010’s “The Sound Of Sunshine”, which was the highest Billboard Top 200 Album Chart debut of Franti’s career. The album was nominated for a 2010 NAACP Image Award. His previous album, “All Rebel Rockers”, hit the Top 40 on the Billboard Top 200 Album Chart and yielded the certified double platinum smash “Say Hey (I Love You).”

“All People” is now available on the Boo Boo Wax/Capitol Records label.
For more info and tour dates visit:

For more information about Bernie Grundman Mastering,