Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Music Producers Guild Announces its Shortlist for the MPG Awards 2012

The Music Producers Guild (UK) today announced the shortlist for its 2012 Awards, which will take place at the Café De Paris, London, on February 16th 2012.

As an annual highlight on the music industry’s calendar, the Music Producers Guild Awards recognises the enormous contribution made by recording professionals to the success of the UK’s music industry.

The winner of the Music Producers Guild’s Producer of the Year Award also receives a BRIT Award for Best Producer, and both awards will be presented at the Music Producers Guild’s Awards ceremony.

MPG Chairman Steve Levine says: “An MPG Award is highly coveted by recording professionals because it represents an endorsement by your peers. Whilst anyone can nominate, only full members of the MPG are allowed to vote for the shortlist and therefore the results are relevant to the creative value of our industry. To win an MPG Award shows that you recognised to be at the top of your game as a recording professional.”

The shortlists for each category (in no particular order) are as follows:

• Producer of the Year, sponsored by The BPI BRITS 2012:
Paul Epworth
Ethan Johns

• Recording Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Prism Sound:
Dan Austin
Haydn Bendall
Geoff Foster

• Mix Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Solid State Logic:
Dave Bascombe
Tom Elmhirst
Mark ‘Spike’ Stent

• Mastering Engineer of the Year:
John Dent
Mandy Parnell
Ray Staff

• Live Production of the Year, sponsored by Shure:
Jools Holland TV Series
Radiohead – Live in Praha
The Who – Live at Leeds/Hull

• UK Album of the Year 2011, sponsored by Universal Audio:
Adele – 21
Everything, Everything – Man Alive
PJ Harvey – Let England Shake

• UK Single of the Year 2011:
Adele – Rolling In The Deep
Noah & The Whale – l.i.f.e.g.o.e.s.o.n
Anna Calvi – Desire

• Re-mixer of the Year, sponsored by Novation:
James Rutledge
Jamie XX
Starsmith (Finlay Dow-Smith)

• Breakthrough Producer of the Year, sponsored by Deep Recording Studios:
Stevan Krakovic
James Rutledge

• Breakthrough Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Genelec:
George Apsion
Tom Morris
Lee Slater

• International Producer of the Year, sponsored by British Grove Studios:
T-Bone Burnett
Dimitri Tikpovoi
Butch Vig

• International Recording Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Focusrite:
Andrew Scheps
Jonathan Shakhovskoy
Craig Silvey

The Outstanding Contribution to UK Music Award, sponsored by PPL, will be presented to Beggars Group founder Martin Mills, while the recipient of the Joe Meek Legacy Award, sponsored by Joe Meek, will be announced at the Awards ceremony in February.

Voting for the Best Studio Award has been changed this year so that members’ voted will decide the winner, therefore voting will continue until January 2012.

The final award for Unsung Hero will be voted for by the readers of Pro Sound News Europe – the Music Producers Guild’s media partner for this event. The winners in all categories will be announced at the Awards ceremony.

Tickets for the Music Producers Guild Awards are now on sale, so book early to avoid disappointment – last year’s event was a complete sell out. To reserve your ticket, please telephone Karen Poree at Bubble & Squeak. +44 (0) 01442 877 850. Email: [email protected].

There are also a number of sponsorship opportunities available and anyone interested should contact Sadie Groom on [email protected]


About Music Producers Guild (UK):

The Music Producers Guild was conceived and is supported by producers and engineers who are passionate about all aspects of making and recording music. It is a not for profit company and is run by volunteers from the membership. Formed as a Guild rather than a Trade Association, MPG has no party political agenda, but does represent the professional recording community to Government and actively engages with other music industry organisations, to develop a dialogue about and exert an influence on matters of mutual interest and benefit to its members and its industry. The achievements of this creative community are celebrated each year through the MPG Awards event.