Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Recording Academy® Producers & Engineers Wing® Announces 2017-2018 Steering Committee

Santa Monica, Calif. — The Recording Academy® Producers & Engineers Wing® has announced its 2017-2018 Steering Committee. The newly seated Committee consists of a diverse array of music engineers, producers, and audio professionals who, building upon the significant legacy established by prior Steering Committees, will work to address key issues confronting music production and promote meaningful solutions to help move the industry forward.

The P&E Wing continues to advocate for excellence in sound recording, audio technologies, and education in the recording arts, along with recognition and rights for music creators overall. The 2017–2018 Steering Committee is chaired by GRAMMY® winners Ed Cherney and Ann Mincieli, and includes the following music industry professionals from across the United States: Jeff Balding, Ivan Barias, David Chesky, Greg “Stryke” Chin, Matt Hennessy, Ken “Duro” Ifill, Emily Lazar, and Manny Marroquin. Also serving as members of the Committee are John Poppo, chair of The Recording Academy Board of Trustees, and Neil Portnow, the Academy’s President and CEO.

Maureen Droney, Recording Academy Managing Director, Producers & Engineers Wing and Recording Technology, states, “This extraordinary group of accomplished individuals encompasses the cross-industry experience and diverse perspectives that will set our agenda for the year and prioritize the initiatives that matter most to our members.”

Photo caption: The Recording Academy P&E Wing’s 2017-2018 Steering Committee, gathered on September 22, 2017. Pictured L-R: Back row: John Poppo, Manny Marroquin, Ivan Barias, Jeff Balding, Matt Hennessy, David Chesky; Front row: Ken “Duro” Ifill, Ann Mincieli, Ed Cherney, Maureen Droney, Emily Lazar; Not pictured: Greg “Stryke” Chin. Photo courtesy of the Recording Academy. © 2017.