Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Riptide Music’s Angela McCluskey is Sampled by Azealia Banks on Her New Hit Album “Broke with Expensive Taste”

Riptide Music Group's Angela McCluskey is featured on the new Azealia Banks song "Ice Princess," which is currently the most downloaded song from Azealia Banks' just released debut LP.

Los Angeles, CA, November 19, 2014 – Riptide Music Group’s Angela McCluskey is featured on the new Azealia Banks song “Ice Princess,” which is currently the most downloaded song from Azealia Banks’ just released debut LP “Broke With Expensive Taste.” The song samples the production and chorus of Morgan Page’s 2012 dance hit “In The Air (feat. Angela McCluskey,)” which reached #1 on the Billboard Hot Dance Airplay Chart and resided in the Top 10 for an impressive 25 weeks. “In The Air” also debuted at #1 on Beatport’s “Top 100 Albums” Chart and at #6 on Billboard’s Heatseeker’s Chart. says, “It’s unlike anything she’s ever rapped over, but right when ‘Ice Princess’ begins to feel like a simple genre exercise, Banks pulls the ripcord, revealing an interpolated chorus [McCluskey’s “In The Air”] that mimics the breezy lilt of Kylie Minogue’s ‘Can’t Get You Out of My Head.’ This is Banks at her best…”

Azealia Banks debut album “Broke With Expensive Taste” was released on November 6th and quickly gained international praise, quickly charting on iTunes in 50 different countries, and entering the Top 10 in 15 countries. “Broke With Expensive Taste” — or #BWET as it was popularly being referred to when trending on Twitter – reached #1 on the U.S iTunes Hip Hop Charts, #3 in the U.S Album Charts (right behind Taylor Swift and One Direction), #1 in the U.K iTunes Alternative Charts, # 6 in U.K iTunes Album Charts, #1 in the Canadian iTunes Hip Hop Charts and #4 in the Canadian iTunes Album Charts, as well as achieving impressive chart status across Europe, South and Central America, the Caribbean, Asia and Australia, all on the first day of release.

“Broke with Expensive Taste” is already being tipped as a serious “Best of 2014” contender. Banks’ song “Ice Princess,” which features the vocal sample by Angela McCluskey, is one of 16 tracks on the new album.


Born in Glasgow, Scotland, Angela McCluskey first achieved recognition as the singer with the much-adored LA band Wild Colonials, with whom she released three albums, “Fruit of Life” (1993), “This Can’t Be Life” (1996) and “Reel Life” in 2000. That same year, Angela also released “Curio,” an album of remarkable covers she recorded with husband Paul Cantelon, Lili Haydn and cellist Martin Tillman.

In 2004, Angela led French outfit, Telepopmusik to the Grammy’s with a nomination for Best Dance Recording for their smash hit “Breathe.” In between “Genetic World” (2003) and “Angel Milk” (2005) – her two records with Telepopmusik – Angela also released her solo album “The Things We Do,” again to thunderous praise. In Europe, the single “It’s Been Done” achieved huge critical acclaim and was heavily championed by Russell Brand.

Aside from Mitsubishi’s famous choice of “Breathe” to launch the Outlander, Angela also sang “Beautiful Things” for American Express and more recently her voice can be heard on the Shick Quatro commercial. The song “I’m not the girl,” which Angela wrote with LMNTL, received so much attention that the track was made available as a free download by Shick . Following the critical success of 2010’s “You Could Start a Fight in an Empty House” – an album, which featured “Handle with Grace” – a new collaboration with Telepopmusik – 2011 saw Angela record with Robbie Robertson on his acclaimed album “How To Become Clairvoyant.” That year, she also released her lauded version of “Here Comes the Sun” to benefit the Sweet Relief Musicians Fund; joined chart- toppers Telepopmusik in Paris to begin work on their follow-up to the brilliant “Angel Milk;” and collaborated with Morgan Page and BT on the huge dance hit “In The Air,” which went to #1 on the USA Billboard Dance Chart.

Fresh from “In The Air’s” recent nomination for Best Progressive Dance Track at this year’s IDMA’s, Angela has released her new EP, entitled “Lambeth Palace,” a six track EP. From the Francoise Hardy/Barbara inspired “A Moment We Never Had” and “All I Want,” to the quiet anthem of “Here We Are” and “Northern Boy,” Angela’s haunting collaboration with Ambrosia Parsley, to the late-night waltz of “Over and Over,” and the lushness of “Take Me Out Tonight” – “Lambeth Palace” is as much an invitation to come over, as it is a record.


Formed in early 2014 by the mergers of Riptide Music and Pigfactory, Riptide Music Group is comprised of three operating units: Riptide Rights: A service-oriented administration and sync licensing company representing publishing and master rights worldwide; Riptide One: A carefully-curated catalog focused on artists that have a strong social media presence and fan base, with exclusive master & publishing rights 100% controlled by Riptide for easy sync licensing; and Pacifica Music Library:  A modern production music library previously established as a joint venture between Riptide Music and Pigfactory providing music for all visual media.

Riptide Music Group is located at 9469 Jefferson Blvd., Ste. 114, Culver City, CA 90232. The phone is 310.437.4380. For more information, please see:

                                                                                                                                       # # #