Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Sarah Fitz-Gerald

It received much better when it was discussed that their Melbourne Cricket Club volunteer tour guidebook was Alan Joyce, a Hawthorn premiership mentor – then they truly hit the jackpot.

Along came Leigh Matthews, Alex Jesaulenko and David Parkin, that are home names all over the place – as well as the small town of Nyirrpi, 430km north-west of Alice Springs, inhabitants 300, isn’t any exception.

“They know all about footy, oh yes – they live not considerably from Liam Jurrah territory,” said Melbourne schoolteacher Rychelle Vines, who was in charge of the youngsters’ 12-day visit to the big smoke.

The old champions were pretty excited, too.

For three men who have done virtually everything imaginable in footy – they’re all premiership players and coaches, with nine of each between them – it takes something special to stir their emotions.

But that’s how it was when they were honoured by the Sport Australia Hall of Fame – Matthews elevated to Legend status and Jesaulenko and Parkin inducted as members.

They are already long-standing members of the AFL Hall of Fame, with Matthews and Jesaulenko holding Legend status there – but all three agreed the Sport Australia Hall of Fame outranked that.

Jesaulenko had no argument from the other two when he said: “You get awards from your club, your peers and also the state, but to be recognised by the nation gucci outlet is the highest you can get. I feel really humble to be in the company of Sir Donald Bradman and names like that. I was stunned to be nominated.”

Parkin said the day he learnt he was to become a member was one of the most emotional of his life.

“You look at the other Legends and this Gucci Handbags Outlet, Gucci Handbags Outlet Store Online is probably gucci handbags the greatest honour,” Matthews said.

Matthews, whom many regard as Australian football’s greatest player, and rugby league’s Johnny Raper became Sport Australia Hall of Fame Legends, the gucci outlet online 31st and 32nd champions – starting with Bradman – to be accorded the accolade.

The Hall of Fame now has more than 500 members, with Parkin and Jesaulenko joined by rugby league player and administrator Ken Arthurson, cyclist Phil Anderson, squash player Sarah Fitz-Gerald, swimmer Grant Hackett, wheelchair tennis player David Hall, aerial skier Kirstie Marshall and sports doctor and scientist, the late Howard Toyne.

Aerial skier Lydia Lassila, a gold medallist at the Winter Olympics in February, won the Hall of Fame’s The Don award, which recognises not just excellence but qualities such as inspiration, sportsmanship, courage and integrity.

Round-the-world sailor Jessica Watson was given the Spirit of Sport award.