Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×

Suzanne Ciani, Russell Kunkel, Leland Sklar & CJ Vanston Join Mr. Bonzai for NAMM Believe in Music Sessions

Clockwise from upper left are Leland Sklar, CJ Vanston, Russell Kunkel, Mr. Bonzai, and Suzanne Ciani. Photo credits: Rob Shanahan, Timothy Fielding, KamranV. January 18-22 is NAMM “Believe in Music Week,” featuring four sessions hosted by Mr. Bonzai with guests synth pioneer Suzanne Ciani, renowned drummer Russell Kunkel, uberbassist Leland Sklar, and composer/keyboardist/producer/recording engineer CJ […]

Clockwise from upper left are Leland Sklar, CJ Vanston, Russell Kunkel, Mr. Bonzai, and Suzanne Ciani. Photo credits: Rob Shanahan, Timothy Fielding, KamranV.

January 18-22 is NAMM “Believe in Music Week,” featuring four sessions hosted by Mr. Bonzai with guests synth pioneer Suzanne Ciani, renowned drummer Russell Kunkel, uberbassist Leland Sklar, and composer/keyboardist/producer/recording engineer CJ Vanston.

Register below to gain access to “NAMM “Believe in Music Week.”

Free Registration: https://attend.believeinmusic.tv/

CJ Vanston’s Treehouse Studio Tour –

Thursday, January 21, 10:15 am PST / 1:15 pm EST

Vanston takes us on a tour of his studio, demonstrates some remote recording projects he is working on, and shares stories about his work with Spinal Tap, etc.

Visit Schedule: https://believeinmusic.app.swapcard.com/event/believe-in-music/planning/UGxhbm5pbmdfMjk5NDYw

“Leland Sklar Demonstrates His Famous Basses” –

Thursday, January 21, 11:40 PST / 2:40 pm EST

Sklar shares some of his most beloved instruments and explains how he achieves his iconic sound.

Visit Schedule: https://believeinmusic.app.swapcard.com/event/believe-in-music/planning/UGxhbm5pbmdfMjk5NDk0

A Visit With Suzanne Ciani: The Diva of the Diode –

Friday, January 22, 10:00 am PT / 1 pm EST

Ciani demonstrates her rare Buchla synthesizer and discusses her plans to archive and re-release her groundbreaking albums in new immersive formats.

Visit Schedule: https://believeinmusic.app.swapcard.com/event/believe-in-music/planning/UGxhbm5pbmdfMjk5NDcx

“Russ Kunkel on Hand Percussion”

Friday, January 22, 11 am PST / 2 pm EST

Kunkel demonstrates the gentle art of hand percussion as an integral part of his work in the recording studio.

Visit Schedule: https://believeinmusic.app.swapcard.com/event/believe-in-music/planning/UGxhbm5pbmdfMjk5NDcw

Mr. Bonzai is an award-winning photographer, author, and interviewer. He has written more than 1,000 articles in the United States, Europe and Asia, and has published many books including “Studio Life” (Mix, 1984), “Hal Blaine and The Wrecking Crew” (Mix, 1992), “The Sound of Money” (Focal, 2000), “Faces of Music” (Cengage, 2006), “Music Smarts” (Berklee Press, 2009) and “John Lennon’s Tooth” (BookBaby, 2012). His photos and articles have appeared in Rolling Stone, The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Billboard, Mix, EQ, Keyboard, Daily Variety, Hollywood Reporter, Los Angeles Magazine, Disney Channel Magazine, Sound & Recording and Relix, among others. http://www.mrbonzai.com/

Close