Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


TECnology Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

The TEC Foundation for Excellence in Audio in Walnut Creek Calif., presenters of the TEC Awards, announces 10 inventions and products that it will induct in its 6th annual TECnology Hall of Fame. The ceremony will be held on Saturday, January 15, beginning at 4 p.m., at the 2011 NAMM Show in Anaheim, Calif., and hosted by Mix executive editor George Petersen.

Established in 2004, the TECnology Hall of Fame recognizes the innovations and companies that have made significant contributions to the advancement of audio technology. A panel of more than 50 recognized audio experts—including authors, educators, product designers, production professionals and others—chooses inductees. To be considered for induction, products or innovations must be at least 10 years old.

“This year’s inductees not only represent a number of ‘firsts,’ including the first audio equalizer, compression driver, studio monitors, videotape recorder, programmable polyphonic synthesizer and in-ear monitoring system,” says George Petersen, “but also key technologies and clasasic products that continue to shape the present and future of professional audio.”

The 2010 TECnology Hall of Fame inductees include:

1915 – Electric Wave-Filter (Audio Equalizer)
1926 – Western Electric 555-w Compression Driver
1937 – Lansing Iconic Studio Monitor
1939 – PCM Patent
1956 – Ampex Model VRX-1000 Video Recorder
1960 – Sennheiser MD-421 Microphone
1978 – Dave Smith Sequential Circuits Prophet-5
1985 – Future Sonics Ear Monitors
1992 – Waves Q10 Paragraphic Equalizer Plug-in
1997 – Antares Auto-Tune

The 6th Annual TECnology Hall of Fame ceremony will be presented the day after the 26th Annual TEC Awards. As part of NAMM’s H.O.T. (Hands-On Training) Zone, it will be held in Room 204B—the Stage Room—on Level 2 of the Anaheim Convention Center. Seating will be available for 300 and is offered to NAMM attendees, with priority given to inductees and their guests.

See full descriptions of the 2010 inductees, and past TECnology Hall of Fame inductee profiles.