Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


52nd Annual CAS Awards Winners

'The Revenant' takes CAS Award for Motion Picture-Live Action

ADR Mixer Doc Kane (center) was presented with the CAS Career Achievement Award by David Fluhr, CAS (at left) and Garry Marshall.

Photo: Ana Gibert

The 52nd annual Cinema Audio Society Awards were held on Saturday, February 20, in the Crystal Ballroom of the Los Angeles Millennium Biltmore Hotel and hosted by comedian Elayne Boosler. The Cinema Audio Society, a philanthropic, non-profit organization, was formed in 1964 for the purpose of sharing information with sound professionals in the motion picture and television industries.

ADR Mixer Doc Kane was honored with the CAS Career Achievement Award. Kane was feted by Garry Marshall and David Fluhr (CAS). Video tributes for Kane, who has more than 350 film credits, included special video tributes from both Disney Animation and Pixar, as well as actor Brad Garrett (Finding Nemo, Ratatouille, Everybody Loves Raymond).

Jay Roach (center) received the CAS Filmmaker Award from Bryan Cranston (at left) and John Ross, CAS.

Photo: Ana Gibert

Among other highlights, Emmy Award winning director/producer/screenwriter Jay Roach (Trumbo, Austin Powers, Game Change, Recount) received the CAS Filmmaker Award in a presentation that included remarks by Oscar nominee Bryan Cranston (Trumbo, Breaking Bad) and John Ross (CAS). Roach joins an impressive list of previous CAS Filmmakers Honorees including Quentin Tarantino, Gil Cates, Bill Condon, Paul Mazursky, Henry Selick, Taylor Hackford, Rob Marshall, Jonathan Demme, Edward Zwick and Richard Linklater.

Celebrity presenters for the evening were celebrated actor and former Screen Actors Guild President, Ed Asner (Up, Lou Grant, Mary Tyler Moore Show), Emmy Award–nominated actor Walton Goggins (The Hateful Eight, Justified, The Shield), actress/writer Mo Collins (Parks & Recreation, MadTV), actor Charley Koontz (CSI: Cyber, Community), actress Dana Gourrier (The Hateful Eight, Lee Daniels’ The Butler) and actor/comedian/voice over artist Carlos Alazraqui (Inside Out, The Fairly Odd Parents, Reno 911!)

The Cinema Audio Society thanks the 52nd CAS Awards sponsors: Title Sponsor and After Party Host—Dolby Laboratories, Inc.; Platinum Level—NBC Universal Operations, Netflix, Sony Pictures Entertainment; Gold Level—Blue Sky, New Regency Pictures, Universal Pictures, Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures; and Silver Level—Formosa Group, Fox Studios Production Services, Warner Bros. Studio Facilities and WME Entertainment.

The winners of the 52nd CAS Awards are as follows:

Outstanding Achievement In Sound Mixing

Motion Picture—Live Action

The Revenant

Production Mixer: Chris Duesterdiek

Re-recording Mixer: Jon Taylor, CAS

Re-recording Mixer: Frank Montaño

Re-recording Mixer: Randy Thom, CAS

Scoring Mixer: Conrad Hensel

ADR Mixer: Michael Miller, CAS

Foley Mixer: Geordy Sincavage

Motion Picture—Animated

Inside Out

Original Dialog Mixer: Doc Kane

Re-recording Mixer: Tom Johnson

Re-recording Mixer: Michael Semanick

Scoring Mixer: Joel Iwataki

Foley Mixer: Mary Jo Lang, CAS

Television Movie or Mini-Series 

Fargo: Season 2 Episode 5

Production Mixer: Michael Playfair, CAS

Re-recording Mixer: Kirk Lynds

Re-recording Mixer: Martin Lee

TelevisionSeries—1 Hour

Game of Thrones: Hardhome

Production Mixer: Ronan Hill, CAS

Production Mixer: Richard Dyer, CAS

Re-recording Mixer: Onnalee Blank, CAS

Re-recording Mixer: Mathew Waters, CAS

Foley Mixer: Brett Voss, CAS


Modern Family: Connection Lost

Production Mixer: Stephen A. Tibbo, CAS

Re-recording Mixer: Dean Okrand, CAS

Re-recording Mixer: Brian R. Harman, CAS

Re-recording Mixer: David Michael Torres

Television Non-Fiction, Variety or Music Series or Specials

Live from Lincoln Center: Danny Elfman’s Music from the Films of Tim Burton

Re-Recording Mixer: Ken Hahn, CAS

Production Mixer/House Sound: Paul Bevan

CAS Technical Achievement Award


Sound Devices SL-6 


iZotope RX5 Advanced

CAS Student Recognition Award

Matt Yocum, Savannah College of Art & Design

Visit the Cinema Audio Society at