Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Arctic Monkeys Cut Lacquer at Bernie Grundman Mastering

The Arctic Monkeys mastered the single “Brick By Brick” at Bernie Grundman Mastering in Hollywood, Calif., for vinyl release on National Record Store Day, April 16. The first single from the band’s fourth studio album, “Don’t Sit Down ‘Cause I’ve Moved Your Chair,” was released on April 11 as a digital download. The entire album, Suck It and See, has a June 7 worldwide release date.

From left: Arctic Monkeys Nick O’Malley, Jamie Cook, Matt Helders, and Alex Turner with mastering engineer Bernie Grundman in the disc cutting suite at Bernie Grundman Mastering.

Photo: David Goggin

The entire band joined mastering engineer Bernie Grundman for the lacquer cutting session, which was also filmed for video release coinciding with the vinyl release. Key shots of the disc-cutting process are featured in the music video; watch the “Brick By Brick” video on YouTube.

Suck It and See features 12 new Arctic Monkeys songs, and was produced by James Ford at Sound City Studios in Los Angeles. The album was engineered by James Brown and mixed by Craig Silvey.

The Arctic Monkeys formed in 2002 in High Green, a suburb of Sheffield, England. The band comprises Alex Turner (lead vocals, lead guitar); Jamie Cook (rhythm guitar, backing vocals); Nick O’Malley (bass guitar, backing vocals); and Matt Helders (drums, percussion, backing vocals).

For more info on Bernie Grundman Mastering, visit

For more on the Arctic Monkeys, go to