Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Big Head Todd and the Monsters at Ardent Studios in Memphis

Pictured at Ardent Studios in Memphis are (L-R) Lightnin’ Malcolm (guest), Rob Squires (bass), Todd Park Mohr (guitar/vocals), Jimmy Hoyson (engineer), Jason Gillespie (assistant), Ruthie Foster (guest), Chris Goldsmith (producer), Cedric Burnside (guest), Jeremy Lawton (keys/lap steel), and Brian Nevin (drums). Photo by Becky Fluke.

New Robert Johnson Concept Album Features Top Guest Artists

For their followup to the acclaimed “Rocksteady,” Big Head Todd and the Monsters ventured to Ardent Studios in Memphis with producer Chris Goldsmith and engineer Jimmy Hoyson. Goldsmith and Hoyson recorded last year’s Grammy-nominated Ruthie Foster record, “The Truth According to Ruthie Foster,” at Ardent in Studio A.

Big Head Todd and the Monsters drew from their recent concept tour with David “Honeyboy” Edwards, Hubert Sumlin, Cedric Burnside & Lightnin’ Malcolm playing the music of legendary bluesman

Robert Johnson. Recording at Ardent, the band invited special guests Charlie Musselwhite and Ruthie Foster for a grand collaboration for blues and rock fans around the world. Ardent’s own Jason Gillespie was the assistant engineer on the session.

The new album’s producer, Chris Goldsmith commented about his experience at Ardent: “Jason Gillespie was amazing. He is extremely capable and has a fantastic attitude. He is on our all-star team for sure. I first came to Ardent with the Ruthie Foster project because we wanted to make a record that leaned on Memphis soul and Memphis musicians and I had heard that Ardent was the best in town. Not only was that true, but Ardent is one of the best studios I’ve ever worked in. The crew, the gear, and the sound of the tracking rooms are all World Class. We came back for this record because I love working at Ardent and the band wanted to be close to Robert Johnson’s stomping grounds for this recording.”

Formed in Colorado, 1986, Big Head Todd and the Monsters consists of Todd Park Mohr (guitars/vocals), Rob Squires (bass/vocals), Brian Nevin (drums/vocals) and Jeremy Lawton (keys/steel guitar/vocals).

For more information visit: