Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


2010 MIPA Awards

For the 11th time, more than 100 magazines from all over the world—including Mix, Electronic Musician and Remix—came together to vote the best audio and musical instrument products of 2009/2010.

Chosen from three finalists in each of dozens of categories, the winners were announced at the annual MIPA (Musikmesse International Press Awards) ceremony on the evening of March 25, 2010, held during the Musikmesse/Pro Light + Sound show in Frankfurt, Germany. More than 300 representatives of manufacturers and distributors of musical instruments and audio were on hand for this truly international event, including guests from the USA, Canada, Japan, Brazil, South Africa, Russia, Poland, Great Britain, Italy, France, Greece, The Netherlands, Belgium, Luxemburg, Sweden, Denmark, Austria, Switzerland and Germany.

The coveted “Best Innovative Product” award went to TC Electronic for its impressive PolyTune guitar tuner. The honoree for this year’s MIPA Lifetime Achievement Award was Hartley Peavey.

The following lists the 2010 MIPA winners in the recording, live sound and electronic music categories, as chosen by more than music/audio journalists from dozens of countries worldwide. Congratulations to all the winners!

Most Innovative Product: TC Electronic PolyTune

Studio Microphone: Neumann TLM 102
Studio Monitor (Near-field): Focal CMS 65
Recording Software: Steinberg Cubase 5
Recording Hardware: Cakewalk SONAR V-Studio 100
Mixing Desk (Project Studio): PreSonus StudioLive
Mixing Desk (High-End): SSL Matrix
Audio Processor (Software): Universal Audio UAD-2
Field Recorder: Zoom H4n
DAW Controller: Cakewalk SONAR V-Studio 700

Several companies (including Cakewalk, Korg, Neumann and TC Electronic) were among those winning several MIPA Awards at the 2010 ceremony, held last night in Frankfurt. Shown here are Cakewalk’s Brandon Ryan (left) and Steve Thomas, during the celebration.

Photo courtesy of Steve Thomas

Hardware Synthesizer: Dave Smith Instruments Tetra
Stage Piano: Yamaha CP1
Controller Keyboard: Novation ReMote SL Mk II
Software Instrument: Synthogy Ivory II
Sound Library: Vienna Symphonic Library
Live Performance Tool: Korg Kaossilator Pro
Electronic Drums: Korg Wavedrum W-DX

Portable Sound: Fohhn Linea Focus
P.A. System: d&b T-Series
Live Microphone: Neumann KMS 104 Plus
Sound System Technologies: Optocore SANE
Mixing Desk (Live): Soundcraft Vi2

Visit MIPA at