Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Golden Reel Winners Announced by MPSE

In February 2005, the Motion Picture Sound Editors (MPSE) announced their 2004 Golden Reel winners in 17 categories.

In February 2005, the Motion Picture Sound Editors (MPSE) announced their 2004 Golden Reel winners in 17 categories.

The Aviator took home the Golden Reel Award for Sound Effects Editing in a Feature Film. Sound Editing in a Foreign Film went to House of Flying Daggers, and Sound Editing in an Animated Film went to The Incredibles.

Dialog/ADR Editing in a Feature Film went to Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. Music Editing in a Feature was won by The Passion of the Christ and for Musical Feature, the winner was Ray.

The feature film awards were presented by previous winner Dane Davis (The Matrix), and music editor Zigmund Gron, both members of the MPSE.

In television, HBO took home two trophies: one for Dialog Editing in Longform Television for The Life and Death of Peter Sellers, and one for Music Editing in Shortform for Sex and the City.

Lost won two awards: Sound Effects editing in Shortform Television, and Dialog/ADR Editing in Shortform Television.

CSI Miami won for Sound Effects Editing in Longform Television. A tie in Longform Music went to A Christmas Carol: The Musical and The Mystery of Natalie Wood.

Nickelodeon won the Television Animation awards for The Adventures of Jimmy Neutron: Boy Genius.

Sound Editing in a Special Venue Film went to NASCAR 3D. Sound Editing in Computer Entertainment was won by Goldeneye. Sound Editing in Direct to Video was won by Bionicle II.

In the Verna Fields Award for Sound Editing in a Student Film, Emma Meaden came all the way from the National Film & Television School in London to collect her award for work done on Lloyd in the Corner. This year Associated Production Music was kind enough to underwrite the $1,000 Ethel Crutcher Scholarship Fund for this award.

Sound editor Richard Hymns (pictured right) presented the Career Achievement Award to sound designer Gary Rydstrom (pictured left). Legendary editor/mixer Walter Murch presented the Inaugural Filmmaker’s Award to George Lucas.

MPSE president David Bondelevitch was very proud of the evening’s festivities. “We are pleased to recognize the contributions of so many people. For many, this is the only time when the contribution of the entire sound crew is truly recognized. Not only are the supervising sound editors recognized, but dialog, ADR, Foley and music editors are, as well. We also recognize many different types of projects including animation, computer entertainment and special venue films, all of which are often overlooked.”

For a complete listing of winners and award candidates, please go to