Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Sennheiser Sponsors Musicians Hall of Fame & Museum

Celebrating the June 9 opening of Nashville’s Musicians Hall of Fame are (left to right): Steve Cropper, Eddie Willis, Bob Babbitt, Uriel Jones, Reggie Young, Billy Sherrill, Joe Chambers (center), founder of the Musicians Hall of Fame, Garry Tallent, Bob Moore, Nashville Mayor Bill Purcell, Vice Mayor Howard Gentry and Linda Chambers.

Sennheiser Electronic Corporation is the official sponsor of Nashville’s Musicians Hall of Fame & Museum, which celebrates generations of talented musicians in all genres of music. The multi-million dollar facility is the brainchild of Nashville songwriter Joe Chambers. The 30,000-square-foot complex is located in downtown Nashville close by the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum, the Gaylord Entertainment Center and Ryman Auditorium. It includes a 5,000-square-foot performance hall, a 1,100-square-foot screening theater, music instruction rooms and a state-of-the-art recording studio.

The performance hall features a Turbosound Aspect series speaker system comprising four of the new TA-500 three-way, full-range enclosures and four Turbosound TSB-118 subwoofers, with four TCS-30 two-way speakers for frontfill. Stage monitors include six TFM-212 dual 12-inch and two TXD-15M single 15-inch floor wedges. The speaker systems are driven via Turbosound LMS-D26 2 x 6-way (for mains) and LMS-D24 2 x 4-way (for monitors) processors through the manufacturer’s T-25 and T-45 amplifiers.

Audio engineer TC Furlong of Lake Forest, Ill. provided system design and supervised the installation of the Sennheiser manufactured and distributed equipment. Furlong, who also provided system alignment of the new TA-500s, was additionally on-hand to personally mix the opening celebrations. “That was the inaugural performance for the TA-500s in the United States. They performed very well and sounded terrific,” Furlong says.

The performance hall has three Neumann KMS 105 MT vocal mics and a wide selection of Sennheiser evolution Series mics. In addition, there are six channels of EW345 G2 super-cardioid handheld wireless microphones with alternate MMD 935 capsules and two channels of EW322 G2 wireless ME4 cardioid lavaliers.

The video theater uses a pair of Turbosound TCS-081C compact full-range two-way speakers for playback. Ten Turbosound TCS-C50T flush-mount ceiling speakers, powered by Australian Monitor AMIS 480P four-channel 70V amplifiers provide playback in the exhibit areas. “They’re not mounted in the ceiling. We made a platform and dropped them in each of the areas,” explains Furlong. An Australian Monitor DigiPage facilitates multi-zone paging.

The ribbon cutting ceremony was held on June 9 and was followed by a two-hour jam session that included Vince Gill, Felix Cavaliere, The Original Funk Brothers (Eddie Willis, Uriel Jones, Joe Messina and Bob Babbitt), Will Lee, Danny Seraphine, David Hungate, Brent Mason, Garry Tallent, Wayne Jackson of the Memphis Horns and numerous others. “I was mixing front-of-house, a feed for video and six monitor mixes from the same console,” reports Furlong. “Fortunately, Bob Bloomfield was on hand to wrangle the stage, which was crucial to the success of the night.”

For more information, visit