Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Puddle of Mudd Mix New Album at Ocean Way Recording

A&R Exec Jack Joseph Puig Mixes “Songs In The Key Of Love & Hate”

Pictured (L-R) in Ocean Way’s Studio D are Puddle of Mudd’s Paul Phillips (lead guitar), Wes Scanlin

(vocals, rhythm guitar), and Douglas Ardito (bass, backing vocals) with A&R executive and mix engineer Jack Joseph Puig. Photo by David Goggin.

Multi-platinum Puddle Of Mudd have mixed at Ocean Way Recording their fourth studio album, “Volume 4: Songs in the Key of Love & Hate.”  Mixed by A&R executive and award-winning engineer Jack Joseph Puig,  the album follows the phenomenal success of POM’s third release, 2007’s “Famous.” One single from that album, “Psycho,” earned Billboard Magazine’s highest honors – #1 Mainstream Rock Song of the Year, #4 Hot Modern Rock Song of the Year, as well as Mainstream Rock #2 Artist of 2008.  Radio and Records posted “Psycho” as the #1 Rock Song of 2008, #2 Active Rock Song of the Year, and POM earned their Number 3 status for Rock Artist of the Year.

Recording “Volume 4” in Vancouver & Los Angeles, Puddle Of Mudd (POM) re-enlisted the talents of Brian Howes, who produced the aforementioned “Famous” and John Kurzweg, who produced 2001’s album, “Come Clean.”  “Even though we hate messing with success, we felt adding newcomer Brian Virtue to the producer mix would be a welcome change,” say frontman Wes Scantlin.   “What we got is 10 tracks of exactly what we were looking for.”

In addition to singer/guitarist Wes Scantlin, bassist Douglas Ardito, drummer Ryan Yerdon and the return of guitarist Paul Phillips on guitars round out the POM line-up.   The band’s 2001 debut album “Come Clean” generated four #1 alternative and rock radio hit singles (“Blurry,” “She Hates Me,” “Control” and “Drift And Die”), with “Blurry” becoming the most played track on Modern Rock Radio for 2002 and scooping the ASCAP award for most played song of the year.  2003 saw the release of their follow up “Life On Display,” which featured the top 5 radio hit “Away From Me” and the top 10 hit “Heel Over Head.”

The first single from “Volume 4,” “Spaceship,” was released October 27th and is the #1 most added at radio, all formats.  For the video, the band hired Petro Papahadjopoulos to create the visual component that will include guest appearances by Nitro Circus, action sport legends – Travis Pastrana, Jolene Van Vugt, Jim DeChamp, Andy Bell, Erik Roner, “Streetbike” Tommy Passemante, Jeremy Rawle, Gregg Godfrey, and Hubert Rowland.

“It’s easy and predictable to say I’m most proud of this record,” says band frontman Wes Scantlin, adding “but I think it’s more appropriate to say I’m most proud of what we’ve accomplished as a band to this point. As self-sufficient as ever, we virtually depend on the fans to come through for us – and because of that, this band is built for the future.”

The complete Flawless/Geffen album will be released on December 8.

For information about Ocean Way/Record One, visit:

Contact Jessica Castle for all booking requests.

Email: [email protected] or call 323-467-9375.