Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


The Music Producers Guild Announces Shortlist For 2013 Awards

Following a record number of nominations for its coveted Awards, the Music Producers Guild has announced the names of those shortlisted in each of the 2013 Music Producers Guild Awards categories.

Albums by Florence & The Machine, The Maccabees, Alt-J, Ed Sheeran and Paloma Faith delivered nominations for UK producers Paul Epworth, Bruno Ellingham & Tim Goldsworthy, Charlie Andrew and Jake Gosling, while in the international categories, The Black Keys and Jack White delivered multiple nominations for their producers and engineers.

Now in its fifth year, the Music Producers Guild Awards recognises the enormous contribution made by recording professionals to the success of the UK’s music industry. The winner of the Music Producers Guild’s Producer of the Year Award also receives a BRIT Award for Best Producer, and both awards will be presented at the Music Producers Guild’s Awards ceremony, which takes place on February 7th 2013 at the Café de Paris in London.

MPG Chairman Steve Levine says: “An MPG Award is highly sought-after by recording professionals because it represents an endorsement by your peers. Whilst anyone can nominate, only full members of the MPG are allowed to vote for the shortlist and therefore the results are relevant to the creative value of our industry. Those who win an MPG Award are recognised to be at the top of their game as a recording professional.”

The shortlists for each category (in no particular order) are as follows:

UK Producer of the Year, sponsored by The BRITS 2013:

Damon Albarn
Paul Epworth
Jake Gosling

Recording Engineer of the Year:

Haydn Bendall
Guy Massey
Al O’Connell

Mix Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Solid State Logic:

Tom Elmhirst
Alan Moulder
Mark ‘Spike’ Stent

Mastering Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Radial:

Matt Colton
Mandy Parnell
Ray Staff

Live Production of the Year, sponsored by Shure:

Adele Live at the Royal Albert Hall 2011
Bon Iver at Air Studios
The Olympics – Opening Ceremony

UK Album of the Year:

Paloma Faith – Fall To Grace
Florence & The Machine – Ceremonials
Ed Sheeran – +

UK Single Song Release of the Year:

Paloma Faith – Picking Up the Pieces
Plan B – Ill Manors
The Maccabees – Pelican
Ed Sheeran – Lego House

Re-mixer of the Year, sponsored by Novation:

Mathew Herbert
Jamie xx

Breakthrough Producer of the Year, in association with Sound on Sound, sponsored Focusrite:

Charlie Andrew
Bruno Ellingham and Tim Goldsworthy
Jake Gosling

Breakthrough Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Genelec:

Dan Austin
Charlie Hugall
Lee Slater

International Producer of the Year, sponsored by British Grove Studios:

Danger Mouse (Brian Burton)
Max Martin
Jack White

International Recording Engineer of the Year, sponsored by KMR Audio:

Tchad Blake
Vance Powell
Dave Sardy

Studio of the Year, sponsored by Pro Sound News Europe:

Black Wookie Studios
RAK Studios
Snap! Studios
Sphere Studios

The A&R Award:

Darcus Beese (Universal Island)
Korda Marshall (Infectious Music)
Richard Russell (XL Recordings)

The Unsung Hero Award:

Mark Thompson (Funky Junk/Snap Studios)
Sarah Liversedge (The Movement/BDI)
Rebecca de la Porta & Paul Walmsley (Polydor/Fiction)

The Outstanding Contribution to UK Music Award, sponsored by PPL, will be presented to Sir George Martin CBE, while the recipients of the MPG Innovation Award and the MPG Inspiration Award, both of which are in the gift of the MPG, will be announced at the Awards ceremony in February.


About Music Producers Guild (UK):
The Music Producers Guild (UK) is an independent and democratic organisation that encourages the highest standards of music production, and actively engages with other music industry organisations to campaign and lobby on matters of important mutual interest.

The MPG represents and promotes the interests of all those involved in the production of recorded music, including producers, engineers, mixers, re-mixers, programmers and mastering engineers. or