Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


2016 NAMM TEC Awards Nominations

Jeff “Skunk” Baxter, Record Plant to be Inducted to the TEC Hall of Fame

The NAMM Foundation in Carlsbad, Calif., announces nominees for its 31st Annual NAMM Technical Excellence & Creativity Awards in the categories of Outstanding Technical and Creative Achievement. The awards celebrate the best in professional audio and sound production. Voting begins December 1, with winners announced at an awards event held on Saturday evening, January 23, 2016, in the Anaheim Hilton’s Pacific Ballroom and via a live event web stream during the 2016 NAMM Show.

In total, winners in more than 30 categories will be selected from the 180 nominees. Winners will be selected by voters from major pro audio publications including Mix, Pro Sound News, Pro Audio Review, Sound & Video Contractor and Electronic Musician magazines, as well as members of the Producers & Engineers Wing of the Recording Academy, Game Audio Network Guild and select NAMM members.

“The story of our industry, and for that matter, the story of NAMM is not some sterile business-school myth,” says Joe Lamond, president and CEO of NAMM. “It is the story of passionate individuals who followed their dreams and against all obstacles persevered and succeeded in making the world a more musical place. The TEC Awards and the TEC Hall of Fame honors these pioneers for their vision and service and we are grateful for their contributions.”  

This year’s Technical Nominees have designed products, tools and new software solutions that take music and audio production to the next level.

In the category of Audio Apps for Smartphones & Tablets, companies with technology that extends the reach and connectivity of concert sound systems in venues of all sizes are nominated. Those brands include Allen & Heath’s Qu-Pad App, Meyer Sound’s Compass Go, JBL Professional’s SRX Connect and other manufacturers’ products that break down barriers between studio and live production.

In the Musical Instrument Hardware category, classic synthesizer designs including MOOG’s Modular Recreation, Korg’s ARP Odyssey and Dave Smith Instruments’ Sequential Prophet-6 show that state-of-the-art technology can advance while still creating iconic sound.

In the category of Workstation Technology, nominated products that include Avid’s Pro Tools 12 feature advance computer-based technologies and user accessibility. Apple, PreSonus, SoundMAGIC, Steinberg and Waves Audio are also up for TEC Award consideration.

There are eight categories for Outstanding Creative Achievement that include TV Sound Production (Game of Thrones, Nashville, and so on); Film Sound Production (American Sniper, Birdman, and so on); Record Production/Single or Track (“Baltimore” from Prince, “Dreams” from Beck, etc.) and more. 

The founders of Record Plant will be inducted into the NAMM TEC Hall of Fame for their exemplary work in capturing iconic music that stretches across generations of the American musical experience, including Stevie Wonder’s Songs in the Key of Life, The Eagles’ Hotel California and live recordings captured with the Rolling Stones and Eric Clapton. At the helm of three Record Plant studios were Chris Stone and the late Gary Kellgren. Their New York-based Studio A was the first studio designed for mixing quadraphonic (surround) sound.

Jeff “Skunk” Baxter—whose guitar licks with Steely Dan, the Doobie Brothers and many more are included on the shelves of music’s most successful discographies—will be inducted into the NAMM TEC Hall of Fame for his myriad contributions to music. A sought-after solo and session player, Baxter’s career fluidly moves between a mixture of genres from pop to country to rock, fusion and beyond.

Read Mix magazine’s feature-length interview with Jeff “Skunk” Baxter in the story “Skunk Goes Solo”, from Mix’s August 2015 issue.

The January 23 event begins with a reception at 6 p.m., followed by the awards ceremony at 7 p.m.

View the complete list of Technical Nominees.

View the complete list of Creative Nominees.

Tickets will be available to purchase from beginning Wednesday, September 30.

Visit the NAMM Foundation at