Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Production Grammy Nominations Announced

The Recording Academy has announced its nominations for the 55th Annual Grammy Awards.

Nashville, TN (December 6, 2012)—The Recording Academy has announced its nominations for the 55th Annual Grammy Awards.

The nominations were announced during a one-hour primetime entertainment special broadcast live on CBS for the first time ever from Bridgestone Arena in Nashville on December 5. Dan Auerbach (The Black Keys), Fun., Jay-Z, Mumford & Sons, Frank Ocean and Kanye West lead the pack this year with six nominations each.

The 55th Annual Grammy Awards will be held on February 10, 2013, at Staples Center in Los Angeles. Once again, it will be broadcast live in HDTV and 5.1 surround sound on CBS from 8-11:30 p.m. (ET/PT).

The nominations include several engineering and production categories (the artist name and record label appears in parentheses):

Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical
“The Absence” – Moogie Canazio & Al Schmitt, engineers; Bernie Grundman, mastering engineer (Melody Gardot) [Verve/Decca]
“Ashes & Fire” – Glyn Johns, engineer; Bob Ludwig, mastering engineer (Ryan Adams) [Capitol]
“The Goat Rodeo Sessions” – Richard King, engineer; Richard King, mastering engineer (Yo-Yo Ma, Stuart Duncan, Edgar Meyer & Chris Thile) [Sony Classical]
“Love Is A Four Letter Word” – Joe Chiccarelli, Steve Churchyard, Lars Fox, Graham Hope, Tony Maserati & Morgan Stratton, engineers; Bob Ludwig, mastering engineer (Jason Mraz) [Atlantic]
“Slingshot” – Helik Hadar, engineer; Bernie Grundman, mastering engineer (Rebecca Pidgeon) [Decca/Toy Canteen Records]

Dan Auerbach, Diplo, Markus Dravs and Salaam Remi are nominated for Producer Of The Year, Non-Classical.

Best Remixed Recording, Non-Classical
“In My Mind (Axwell Remix)” – Axel Hedfors, remixer (Ivan Gough & Feenixpawl Featuring Georgi Kay) [Neon Records/Axtone/Big Beat Records]
“Lie Down In Darkness (Photek Remix)” – Photek, remixer (Moby) Track from: Destroyed Remixed [Little Idiot]
“Midnight City (Eric Prydz Private Remix)” – Eric Prydz, remixer (M83) [Mute]
“Promises (Skrillex & Nero Remix)” – Skrillex, remixer (Nero) [Interscope]
“The Veldt (Tommy Trash Remix)” – Thomas Olsen, remixer (Deadmau5 Featuring Chris James) [Ultra Music]

Best Surround Sound Album
“Chamberland” – David Miles Huber, surround mix engineer; David Miles Huber, surround mastering engineer; David Miles Huber, surround producer (David Miles Huber) [ llc]
“Modern Cool” – Jim Anderson, surround mix engineer; Darcy Proper, surround mastering engineer; Michael Friedman, surround producer (Patricia Barber) [Premonition Records]
“Quiet Winter Night” – Morten Lindberg, surround mix engineer; Morten Lindberg, surround mastering engineer; Morten Lindberg, surround producer (Hoff Ensemble)
[2L (Lindberg Lyd)]
“Rupa-Khandha” – Daniel Shores, surround mix engineer; Daniel Shores, surround mastering engineer; Marina Ledin & Victor Ledin, surround producers (Los Angeles Percussion Quartet) [Sono Luminus]
“Storm Corrosion” – Steven Wilson, surround mix engineer; Steven Wilson, surround mastering engineer; Steven Wilson, surround producer (Storm Corrosion) [Roadrunner Records]

Best Engineered Album, Classical
“Americana” – Daniel Shores, engineer; Daniel Shores, mastering engineer (Modern Mandolin Quartet) [Sono Luminus]
“Beethoven: The Late String Quartets, Op. 127 & 131” – Bruce Egre, engineer (Brentano String Quartet) [Aeon]
“Life & Breath – Choral Works By RenÈ Clausen” – Tom Caulfield & John Newton, engineers; Mark Donahue, mastering engineer (Charles Bruffy & Kansas City Chorale) [Chandos]
“Music For A Time Of War” – Jesse Lewis & John Newton, engineers; Jesse Brayman, mastering engineer (Carlos Kalmar & The Oregon Symphony) [PentaTone Classics]
“Souvenir” – Morten Lindberg, engineer; Morten Lindberg, mastering engineer (TrondheimSolistene) [2L (Lindberg Lyd)]

In the category Producer Of The Year, Classical, nominations include Blanton Alspaugh, Tim Handley, Marina Ledin, Victor Ledin, James Mallinson and Dan Merceruio.

The 55th Annual Grammy Awards