Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


28th Annual TEC Awards Nominees for Outstanding Technical Achievement

The TEC Foundation for Excellence in Audio announces the Technical Achievement nominees for the 28th Annual Technical Excellence & Creativity Awards, to be held Friday, January 25, 2013, in Anaheim, Calif. Presented by the TEC Foundation, the TEC Awards is the pro audio industry’s most prestigious awards show honoring outstanding achievement in product innovation and sound production.

The nominations comprise 20 categories of Technical Achievement in product design, and will be followed by an announcement of nominees in eight categories of Creative Achievement in sound production. The nominations, based on product entries by audio manufacturers, were made by a select panel of 130 professionals in numerous audio specialties. Products and projects released and in commercial use during the period of September 1, 2011 to August 31, 2012, were eligible for nomination.

Changes in the nomination categories this year include the addition of Headphone/Earpiece Technology and Audio Apps for Smartphones & Tablets. Due to an insufficient number of entries, an award for Large Format Console Technology will not be presented this year.

Online voting will begin in November among members of various professional audio organizations, and qualified professionals subscribing to audio and music products trade publications.

Awards for both Outstanding Technical and Creative Achievement will be presented at the 2013 NAMM Show, along with the presentation of the Les Paul Award to renowned musician Pete Townshend and the induction of Record Plant President Rose Mann Cherney to the TEC Awards Hall of Fame.

The 28th Annual TEC Awards Technical Achievement Nominees:

Ancillary Equipment
API 1608 Automation

Argosy Aura Sit Stand Workstation

Cloud Microphones Cloudlifter CL-Z Mic Activator

Dangerous Liaison Patchbay/Router

Royer Labs Sling-Shock Mic Mount

Waves Audio WLM Loudness Meter

Audio Apps Technology for Smartphones & Tablets

Genelec SpeakerAngle
Moog Animoog
PreSonus QMix
Yamaha StageMix Version 3

Native Instruments iMaschine
Wavemachines Laboratories Auria iPad DAW

Microphone Preamplifier Technology
A-Designs Ventura Mic Preamp

Apogee Electronics 8-Channel Mic-Pre Module for Symphony I/O

Audio Engineering Associates RPQ500

Focusrite ISA Two

Millennia HV-32 
Radial PowerTube

Studio Monitor Technology

ADAM A77x 
Dynaudio Acoustics DBM 50

Event Electronics 2030

Focal Professional SM9
Pelonis Acoustics Model 4288
Trident HG3

Recording Devices

JoeCo BBR64-Dante

Roland R-26 Field Recorder

Sound Devices PIX 220
Tascam DR-40

Zoom H2n Handy Recorder

Musical Instrument Amplification & Effects Technology

Blackstar HT-1R Guitar Amplifier

DigiTech iStomp Pedal
Kemper Profiling Amplifier

Line 6 POD HD Pro Guitar Processor/Amp Simulator

Roland GR-55 Guitar Synthesizer
TC Electronic BG250 Bass Amp

Amplification Hardware/Studio & Sound Reinforcement

Aphex Headpod 4

Bryston BHA-1 Balanced Headphone Amplifier

Crown I-Tech 4x3500HD Power Amplifier
Dangerous Music Source Switcher

Lake LM 44 System Controller
QSC Q-Sys Core 250i/500i Processing Platform

Computer Audio Hardware

Apogee Electronics Symphony I/O 16×16 Analog Module
Avid Pro Tools 10 HDX

MOTU Track 16

PreSonus AudioBox 1818VSL
Solid State Logic Alpha-Link MX
Universal Audio Apollo High Resolution Audio Interface

Musical Instrument Technology (Hardware)

Arturia MiniBrute

Clavia Nord Stage 2
Dave Smith Instruments Mopho x4
Korg Kronos X

Moog Minitaur
Muse Research MuseBox

Musical Instrument Technology (Software)

Arturia SEM V

iZotope Iris

MOTU Mach Five 3.1

Native Instruments Kontakt 5

Steven Slate Drums 4.0
Synthogy Ivory II-American Concert D

Signal Processing Technology (Hardware)

Dave Hill Designs Titan Compressor

Empirical Labs DocDerr
Endless Analog CLASP 16

Little Labs I-VOG Bass Enhancer

Millennia Media NSEQ-4 Equalizer

Rupert Neve Portico II: Master Bus Processor

Signal Processing Technology (Software)
Avid Channel Strip Plug-in

CEDAR Retouch 5

iZotope Ozone 5 Advanced

Slate Digital VCC Console Emulation

Universal Audio Ampex ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder Plug-in

Waves Audio Bass Rider 

Sound Reinforcement Loudspeaker Technology

Adamson Energia E-15

L-Acoustics ARCS II

Line 6 StageSource L3t

Martin Audio Compact MLA

Meyer Sound CAL Column Array Loudspeaker

Microphone Technology/Sound Reinforcement

Audio-Technica ATM510

Countryman K6 Pro Headset Mic

DPA d:fine Headset Mic

Earthworks WL40V Wireless Mic Capsule

Neumann KK204/205 Wireless Mic Capsules

Telefunken Elektroakustik M81

Microphone Technology/Recording

Audio-Technica AT4050 Urushi Ltd. Edition

Blue Spark Digital

Bock ifet Large Diaphragm Mic

Mojave Audio MA-301fet

sE RN17 Small Diaphragm Condenser Mic

Sterling Audio ST6050 Ocean Way Edition

Headphone/Earpiece Technology

Audio-Technica ATH-M50WH Headphones

Aurisonics AS1 Custom IEM Transducers

Future Sonics MG6Pro 13mm Ear Monitors

Roland RH-A7 Headphones
Sennheiser HD700 Headphones
Shure SRH1840 Headphones

Wireless Technology

AKG DMS70D Digital Wireless

Audio-Technica System 8 Wireless

Lectrosonics HH Handheld Transmitter
Line 6 XD-V75 Digital Wireless System
Shure Axient Wireless

Sony DWX-02 Series Digital Wireless

Workstation Technology

Avid Pro Tools 10
CEDAR Cambridge Version 8
PreSonus Studio One Professional Version 2

Propellerhead Reason Version 6.5

Sony SpectraLayers
Steinberg Cubase Version 6.5

Sound Reinforcement Console Technology

Allen & Heath GLD

Avid VENUE SC48 Remote
DiGiCo SD5
Midas PRO2/PRO2C

Soundcraft Si Compact V2
Yamaha CL5

Small Format Console Technology

Behringer X32

Line 6 StageScape M20d

Mackie DL1608

Maselec MTC-1 Mastering Transfer Console

PreSonus Live 16.0.2

Rupert Neve Designs 5059 Satellite Mixer

Large Format Console Technology

A 2012 TEC Award will not be given in this category due to an insufficient number of entries.

For more information about the 28th Annual TEC Awards, visit