Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Cinema Audio Society to Honor Jeffrey S. Wexler

Jeffrey S. Wexler, CAS

Photo: Carol Wexler

Cinema Audio Society President, Edward L. Moskowitz, CAS, announced that the organization would honor production sound mixer Jeffrey S. Wexler, CAS (pictured), with the CAS Career Achievement Award, the Cinema Audio Society’s highest accolade, to be presented at the 47th CAS Awards on February 19, 2011 at the Crystal Ballroom of the Millennium-Biltmore Hotel in Los Angeles. Moskowitz also announced the schedule for the CAS Awards.

“The Cinema Audio Society’s Career Achievement Award honors excellence and longevity, and Jeff’s career of 40 years and over 70 feature films, hundreds of commercials and numerous documentaries certainly deserves this recognition,” says Moskowitz. “He has been at the forefront of innovation and embracing new technology in sound mixing, which exemplifies the mission and goals of the Cinema Audio Society.”

Honored with a BAFTA Film Award for Best Sound for Almost Famous, Wexler has been nominated twice by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and the Cinema Audio Society for his work on The Last Samurai and Independence Day. He was also nominated for an Emmy and a CAS Award for the HBO movie 61*. The CAS states that Wexler was the first production sound mixer to get a single-card credit up front on the 1979 film Being There.

Wexler is said to be among the first to use Digital Audio Tape, the DAT format, for production sound recordings, and worked with all the major post facilities to develop workflows for this new format. He was also a pioneer in using file based production recorder with the original Deva I, which ushered in a technical transition in motion picture sound recording. Wexler is constantly involved in new technology, such as using recording cards in wireless mics and making a seamless path to post.

As the 29th recipient of the Cinema Audio Society’s highest honor, Wexler joins an illustrious group of past honorees that include Ray Dolby, CAS; Robert Altman, Jack Solomon, CAS; John Bonner, Bill Varney, CAS; Don Rogers, CAS; Walter Murch, CAS; Jim Webb, CAS; Richard Portman, CAS; Tomlinson Holman, CAS; Mike Minkler, CAS; Ed Greene, CAS; Dennis Sands, CAS; Dennis L. Maitland, Sr., CAS and Randy Thom, CAS.

The CAS offers the following key dates for the 47th Awards:

October 5, 2010—CAS submission forms online at CAS Website

October 25, 2010—CAS submission forms mailed

November 26, 2010—CAS submissions due by 5 p.m. (Pacific)

December 12, 2010—CAS mails nomination ballots

December 31, 2010—CAS nomination voting ends at 5 p.m. (Pacific)

January 6, 2011—CAS announces nominees

January 14, 2011—CAS mails final ballots

February 12 2011—CAS final voting ends at 5 p.m. (Pacific)

KTLA entertainment reporter Sam Rubin will return as Master of Ceremonies at the 47th CAS Awards dinner on February 19, which will also honor Outstanding Achievements in Sound Mixing in five categories; Motion Pictures; Television Movies and Miniseries; Television Series; Television: Non-Fiction, Variety or Music Series or Specials; and DVD Original Programming.

Visit the CAS at