Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


SPARS Elects New Officers

SPARS President Eric Johnson

During the recent 127th AES Convention in New York City, SPARS’ Board of Directors elected new officers for the coming year. Eric Johnson, executive producer with Blazing Music + Sound, Raleigh, N.C., was elected president while Sherri Tantleff, Director of Industry Outreach with Full Sail University in Orlando, Fla., was elected Secretary.

SPARS Secretary Sherri Tantleff

Other appointments included the election of Kevin Becka, Mix magazine’s technical editor and Director of Education for the Conservatory of Recording Arts and Sciences in Tempe, Ariz., as Treasurer. Leslie Ann Jones, SPARS’ immediate past president and the director of Music and Scoring at Skywalker Sound in San Rafael, Calif., will remain on SPARS’ board as a consultant.

SPARS Treasurer Kevin Becka

“I am extremely pleased with these latest appointments to the SPARS Board of Directors,” states SPARS Executive Director Paul Christensen. “The outstanding leadership these individuals bring to SPARS will provide the vision and energy to move the 30-year organization to the next level.”

In addition, the board welcomed two new members: Kirk Imamura, president of Avatar Studios in New York City, and Tony van Veen, CEO and president of Disc Makers and CD Baby in Pennsauken, N.J. (For additional information on these board appointments, read the news story “SPARS Appoints Kirk Imamura, Tony van Veen to Board of Directors.”)

SPARS is a non-profit association representing professionals in the recording industry. The organization is dedicated to providing networking, education and community to its members and the industry as a whole.

For more information on SPARS, visit