Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


The 22nd Annual Technical Excellence & Creativity Awards Nominations

Listed below are the nominees chosen by the Nominating Panel of the 22nd Annual TEC Awards. A special TEC Awards Voter's Guide and voting ballot will

Listed below are the nominees chosen by the Nominating Panel of the 22nd Annual TEC Awards. A special TEC Awards Voter’s Guide and voting ballot will appear in the August issue of Mix. Note: In the category of Outstanding Creative Achievement, a complete list of all nominees for each project may be found at


Ancillary Equipment
Ampeg SVT-DI Direct Box
Crown Xti Amplifier
Dangerous Music ST/SR Monitor Controller
Frontier Design Group TranzPort
Shure E4 Earphones
Whirlwind E-Snake 2 (ES2)

Digital Converter Technology
Benchmark Media ADC1
Digidesign Mbox2
Focusrite Saffire Lavry Stereo DA10
MOTU UltraLite

Hall of Fame inductee David Hewitt

Mic Preamplifier Technology
A-Designs Audio Pacifica
Grace Design m802
Mackie Onyx 400F
Neve 1073 DPD
PreSonus ADL 600
SSL XLogic E Signature

Microphone Technology/Sound Reinforcement
AKG HSD Series Headset
Audio-Technica Unipoint Series
Beyerdynamic Opus 89
Groove Tubes GT Convertible
Heil Sound PR20
Sennheiser HSP Headworn Mic

Microphone Technology/Recording
DPA 4090/4091
Holophone H2-Pro
Neumann TLM 49
Schoeps CMIT 5U Shotgun
Soundelux E251C

Wireless Technology
AKG WMS40 Pro Flexx
Audio-Technica 3000 Series With Scanning
Lectrosonics UCR401
Sennheiser SKM5200
Shure UHF-R
Zaxcom TRX900

Sound Reinforcement LoudspeakerTechnology
Adamson T-21 Subwoofer
EAW NT Series Powered
JBL Professional VRX932LA
Meyer Sound MICA
Renkus-Heinz ICONYX
Turbosound Aspect

Studio Monitor Technology
ADAM Audio Artist
JBL LSR4300 Series
M&K Sound MPS-1611P
Tannoy Precision D Series
Yamaha HS Series

Musical Instrument Technology
Cakewalk Dimension Pro
Dave Smith Instruments Poly Evolver Keyboard
MOTU Symphonic Instrument
TC Electronic G-System
VSI Vienna Instrument

Signal Processing Technology/Hardware
dbx DriveRack 4800
DW Fearn VT-7 Stereo Compressor
Eventide H8000FW Multichannel Effects System
Rupert Neve Portico 5042 Tape Emulator
SSL XLogic X-Rack
TC-Helicon Voicepro

Signal Processing Technology/Software
Antares AVOX Vocal Toolkit
Digidesign Dynamics III
Eventide Anthology II
SSL LMC-1 Listen Mic Compressor Plug-In
Universal Audio Precision Multiband for UAD-1
Waves SSL 4000 Collection

Workstation Technology
Ableton Live 5.2
Apple Logic Pro 7.2
Cakewalk SONAR 5 Producer Edition
Digidesign Pro Tools 7
Steinberg Nuendo 3.2
TC Electronic PowerCore PCI mkII

Sound Reinforcement Console Technology
Allen & Heath GL2800
APB-Dynasonics Spectra Series
DiGiCo Mini DiGiRack
Mackie Onyx 80 Series
Soundcraft MH2
Yamaha M7CL

Small Format Console Technology
Allen & Heath Zone 3D
API DSM Series
Digidesign D-Command
Neve 8816 Summing Mixer
Trident Series 8T

Large Format Console Technology
Euphonix 5-MC
Fairlight Anthem
Harrison Trion
Neve 88D
SSL C300
Trident Dream 32


Tour Sound Production
Dave Matthews Band, Ultra Sound/Pro Media
The Rolling Stones, Clair/Showco/MD
James Taylor, Clair Bros.
Alison Krauss and Union Station, featuring Jerry
Douglas, SE Systems
The White Stripes, Thunder Audio

Remote Production/Recording or Broadcast
Cream at Madison Square Garden
48th Annual Grammy Awards
Live at The Fillmore: Ozomatli
Neil Young: Heart of Gold
The Eagles — Live From Melbourne

Television Sound Production
American Idol, Fox
Deadwood, HBO
Lost, ABC
The West Wing, NBC
24, Fox

Film Sound Production
King Kong
Star Wars Episode II: Revenge of the Sith
The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe
Walk the Line
War of the Worlds

Studio Design Project
Firehouse 12 Recording Studio, New Haven, CT
Remote Recording Digital Studio, The White Truck, NYC
Right Track/Sound on Sound Studio D1, NYC
Studio at the Palms, Las Vegas
Timbaland Studios, Virginia Beach, VA

Surround Sound Production
Brothers in Arms: 20th Anniversary Edition, Dire Straits
In Your Honor, Foo Fighters
Mussorgsky/Stokowski Pictures at an Exhibition-Boris Godunov-Night on Bare Mountain, Jos Serebriar and Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra
Talking Heads Brick, Talking Heads
With Teeth, Nine Inch Nails

Record Production/Single or Track
“Feel Good Inc.,” Demon Days, Gorillaz with De La Soul
“Gold Digger,” Late Registration, Kanye West
“La Tortura,” Fijacion Oral, Vol. 1, Shakira
“Mas Que Nada,” Timeless, Sergio Mendes
“We Belong Together,” The Emancipation of Mimi, Mariah Carey

Record Production/Album
Back Home, Eric Clapton
Good Night, and Good Luck soundtrack, Dianne Reeves
Morph the Cat, Donald Fagen
Late Registration, Kanye West
Timeless, Sergio Mendes

The 22nd Annual TEC Awards will be held Saturday, October 7, 2006, at the Hilton San Francisco.

For more information, contact Karen Dunn at 925/939-6149 or [email protected].